17. Stories to Get You Through the Night- Various Authors

stgytn

Title: Stories to Get You Through the Night

Authors:  Helen Dunmore, Katherine Mansfield, John Cheever, Arthur Conan Doyle, Virginia Woolf, Rudyard KiplingHelen Simpson, Richard Yates, James Lasdun, Martin Amis, Angela Carter, W. Somerset Maugham, Alice Munro, Julian Barnes, Anton Chekov, Oscar Wilde, Haruki Murakami, Wilkie Collins, Kate Chopin,  Elizabeth Gaskell and Jacob Grimm.

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Fiction, Anthologies

Stories to Get You Through the Night is a collection to remedy life’s stresses and strains. Inside you will find writing from the greatest of classic and contemporary authors; stories that will brighten and inspire, move and delight, soothe and restore in equal measure.

This is an anthology to devour or to savour at your leisure, each story a perfectly imagined whole to be read and reread, and each a journey to transport the reader away from the everyday. Immersed in the pages you will follow lovers to midnight trysts, accompany old friends on new adventures, be thrilled by ghostly delights, overcome heartbreak, loss and longing, and be warmed by tales of redemption, and of hope and happiness.

Whether as a cure for insomnia, to while away the hours on a midnight journey, or as a brief moment of escapism before you turn in, the stories contained in this remarkable collection provide the perfect antidote to the frenetic pace of modern life – a rich and calming selection guaranteed to see you through the night.” (Goodreads 2014)

 

I picked up this anthology, I admit it, because of the beautiful, beautiful cover. I spotted it on the shelves in Waterstones just before my birthday and before I knew it, I was buying it. I’m not personally a lover of short stories, I prefer stories I can bury myself in for a couple of nights at a time and get lost in. But this collection works well together.

 I picked this up because I spotted a range of authors within the book whom I’d always wanted to read the works of, but wasn’t sure if I’d enjoy them- so for example, the book features writers such as Virginia Woolf, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Haruki Murakami, Katherine Mansfield. Whilst I have previously read Sir Conan Doyle’s works (FIVE ORANGE PIPS NEEDS TO BE MADE INTO A THING NOW PLEASE.), and I have previously read the much loved Haruki Murakami, whose work I can’t say I’m a fan of (cue the internet gasp)- I’d not yet read any of Woolf and Mansfield etc, so I saw this book as a good opportunity to get a light idea of what their writing is like. And that is exactly what I think anthologies like this are good for.

 Some of the stories were only two or three pages long and some were pushing 20 pages by themselves, so there is a wide variety of stories. The stories themselves are arranged into specific categories within the book: “Stories to make you glad to be alive”, “Stories to send a shiver up your spine”, “Stories to read when everything is going wrong”…

 I enjoyed a lot of these stories and I recommend this book to people who wish to read more of popular authors, if only just to get an idea what their writing habits are like.

Leave a Reply

