Top Ten Tuesday 3

ttt

Time for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by  brokeandthebookish!

This week’s feature is: Top Ten Books which will make you Swoon

It should be noted that I’m not a very openly romantic person. I tend to prefer stories where there is romance but it’s more of a sub-plot and there are greater problems at stake. That being said, I should be able to get at least ten books for you guys this week for this meme. I’m going to try and make them quite different from each other so that there is some variation for you, but I don’t think I’ll put them in any sort of ranking order…

Top Ten Books that will make you swoon

 na1

Northanger Abbey

 I’m only allowing myself one Austen for this meme, and whilst most people will pick Pride and Prejudice, I’m going to go with my favourite Northanger Abbey. Despite her naïve curiousity almost insulting his entire family, Tilney is willing to give up his fortune and his prick of a father to be with Catherine. Awwwh. You can’t deny, Tilney is a sweetheart.

Thank you; for now we shall soon be acquainted, as I am authorized to tease you on this subject whenever we meet, and nothing in the world advances intimacy so much”

je

Jane Eyre

 I love the tension between Edward and Jane. I love the scene where she asks him for money so she can go and visit her aunt and he teases her saying she has to make sure she comes back to him. I love their bond and I just love them.

Because, he said, “I sometimes have a queer feeling with regard to you – especially when you are near me, as now: it is as if I had a string somewhere under my left ribs, tightly and inextricably knotted to a similar string situated in the corresponding quarter of your little frame. And if that boisterous channel, and two hundred miles or so of land some broad between us, I am afraid that cord of communion will be snapt; and then I’ve a nervous notion I should take to bleeding inwardly.”

 cndr

Cinder

 Everyone is buzzing over Cress and Thorne, and everybody (me included) loves Scarlet and Wolf, but for this series, Cinder and Kai are my OTP. You have no idea how happy the end of Cress made me.

I know this is stupid, but part of me felt like if I could come see you today, if I could convince you to go with me tonight, then maybe I could still change things. It’s dumb, I know. It’s not like Levana cares if I, you know, might have actual feelings for someone

ttvdayps

 Poison Study

One of the first “female assassin” stories in YA and if you don’t love Valek and Yelena, you’re wrong.

But you’ve slipped under my skin, invaded my blood and seized my heart.”

That sounds more like a poison than a person,” was all I could say”

ttvdayslp

The Silver Linings Playbook

I love that this book actually has a different ending to the movie. I love how this book tackles mental health issues as something not to be ashamed of, and I love the relationship between Pat and Tiffany.

The only way to beat my crazy was by doing something even crazier. Thank you. I love you. I knew it from the moment I saw you. I’m sorry it took me so long to catch up”

ttvdaycyks

Can You Keep a Secret

One of my favourite books. I never fail to laugh during this book no matter how many times I read it. The relationship dynamic between Emma and Jack is fantastic and lovely. One of my favourite scenes has to be the scene in the lift where Jack recognises her boyfriend by his watch…

It’s the way he had a cup of tea waiting for me when I woke up. It’s the way he turned on his laptop especially for me to look up all my Internet horoscopes and helped me choose the best one. He knows all the crappy, embarrassing bits about me that I normally try to hide from any man for as long as possible… and he loves me anyway”

ttvdaypb

The Princess Bride

I always prefer the first half of this book to the second but come on, this is a pop culture classic and I really do love the fairytale style of it.

As You Wish…”

ttvdayns

North and South

There are plenty of similarities between North and South and Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. One is that I noticed while reading and watching the tv versions of these stories, that whilst in the tv shows and movies, the male leads are always quite cold towards the heroine, if you read the books, the authors actually hint at their affection for them from the start. For example, in one of the very early chapter’s of P&P, Austen notes that Darcy is obsessed with Lizzie Bennet’s eyes. North and South is similar, in that Gaskell portrays Thornton in quite an affectionate manner. I love the political debates of this story, but mostly, I love Thornton.

One word more. You look as if you thought it tainted you to be
loved by me. You cannot avoid it. Nay, I, if I would, cannot
cleanse you from it. But I would not, if I could. I have never
loved any woman before: my life has been too busy, my thoughts
too much absorbed with other things. Now I love, and will love.
But do not be afraid of too much expression on my part

ttvdaybrmk

Beauty

 A re-telling of Beauty and the Beast. You can’t go wrong with that tale for romance, really.

Cannot a beast be tamed?”

ttvday thg

The Hunger Games

I didn’t really get much into the romance in this series until about the third time I read it. I always focussed more on TeamKatniss! And the revolution, since that was what was important. However, I grew to appreciate not only the romantic elements of this series but what came with it, the proof of human kindness, sympathy and love in the face of despair, danger and destruction. Oh Peeta, poor Peeta.

You’re still trying to protect me. Real or not real,” he whispers.
“Real,” I answer. “Because that’s what you and I do, protect each other.”

BONUS:

ttvdaydh

The Mediator Series/Darkest Hour

 Jesse De Silva was my first book crush. Yes.  Because of this, I couldn’t justify leaving this series out of this valentine’s day meme! . Darkest Hour was brilliant and my favourite book of the series. That is all.

I thought about telling him the truth: ‘Oh, nothing. Just having my soul exorcised so I can roam aroundpurgatory, looking for the ghost of the dead cowboy who used to live in my bedroom.”

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday 3

  1. imaginativeminds says:

    Can You Keep a Secret? AMAZING BOOK! I loved it. And The Mediator, glad someone else has also read that. I love Jessie <3. Great list!

    • thebookheap says:

      Oh my god, the Mediator is an amazing series. I’ve actually just bought the new bind ups of it because my old copies had literally fallen to pieces after ten years, so now I’ve got new copies to wear in 🙂

      Can you keep a secret is brilliant- I do love Kinsella and my second favourite of hers is probably Twenties Girl, which is more sweet than funny.

Leave a Reply

