Monthly Round Up: March Wrap Up and April TBR!

But first a general, happy update: I found out yesterday that I passed my dissertation, which means I HAVE MY MASTERS DEGREE! (~*~with Merit!~*~)- ahhh, such a great feeling, and such a bloody relief.  Since I set this book blog up in December, I’ll  back track and fill you in, which will give you an idea why it’s such a “Relief”. I graduated from my Undergrad in 2012 (Criminology, 2:1!), and decided to do a Masters because the course was cheaper than usual- don’t get me wrong, I still had to take out a bank loan to do it, but it’d be worth it because it’s an extra degree. So from 2012 until january this year, I was balancing three jobs: Studying full time, working part time at weekends at unsocial hours (i.e. 3am-12am), and doing my voluntary work.  I started my dissertation in May but shit happened and a problem came up with the research I could not have predicted, meaning I had to redo it from scratch in September, when it was originally due- so when everybody else submitted theirs, I was starting mine. Cue massive stress. Everybody got their results just as I submitted mine- eeeeph. But anyway, it’s all worked out and I’m super glad that my dissertation didn’t get slaughtered by the markers for being crap and YAY. Just YAY!

 

*COUGH* anyway, moving on to the real reason why this post exists: WRAP UP AND TBR TIME, AMIRITE GUYS??

So, what did I read in March?

Continue reading

Advertisements

52. Half Bad (Half Life Trilogy #1)- Sally Green

bh2

Title: Half Bad (Half Life Trilogy #1)

Author: Sally Green

Rating:  

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Fantasy

Half Bad by Sally Green is a breathtaking debut novel about one boy’s struggle for survival in a hidden society of witches.

You can’t read, can’t write, but you heal fast, even for a witch.

You get sick if you stay indoors after dark.

You hate White Witches but love Annalise, who is one.

You’ve been kept in a cage since you were fourteen.

All you’ve got to do is escape and find Mercury, the Black Witch who eats boys. And do that before your seventeenth birthday. (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading

51. Uninvited- Sophie Jordan

jn4

Title: Uninvited (#1)

Author: Sophie Jordan

Rating:  

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Sci-fi/Dystopian (maybe?)

 

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading

50. Adaptation- Malinda Lo

Yes it is tuesday, which tends to mean “Top Ten Tuesday” on this blog, but I honestly cannot think of 10 bookish bucket list things apart from “attend more book events” since I’ve only actually ever been to one (last year!). So in light of that: straight on to my next review!

bk5

Title: Adaptation

Author: Malinda Lo

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Paranormal

 

Reese can’t remember anything from the time between the accident and the day she woke up almost a month later. She only knows one thing: She’s different now.

Across North America, flocks of birds hurl themselves into airplanes, causing at least a dozen to crash. Thousands of people die. Fearing terrorism, the United States government grounds all flights, and millions of travelers are stranded.

Reese and her debate team partner and longtime crush David are in Arizona when it happens. Everyone knows the world will never be the same. On their drive home to San Francisco, along a stretch of empty highway at night in the middle of Nevada, a bird flies into their headlights. The car flips over. When they wake up in a military hospital, the doctor won’t tell them what happened, where they are—or how they’ve been miraculously healed.

Things become even stranger when Reese returns home. San Francisco feels like a different place with police enforcing curfew, hazmat teams collecting dead birds, and a strange presence that seems to be following her. When Reese unexpectedly collides with the beautiful Amber Gray, her search for the truth is forced in an entirely new direction—and threatens to expose a vast global conspiracy that the government has worked for decades to keep secret (Goodreads 2014)

 

Continue reading

49. Rage Within (Dark Inside #2)- Jeyn Roberts

13185168

Title: Rage Within (Dark Inside #2)

Author: Jeyn Roberts

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Post-Apocalyptic

In this apocalyptic sequel to Dark Inside’s “well-balanced, realistic suspense” (Kirkus Reviews), four teens continue the struggle for survival as they face a world gone mad.

Aries, Clementine, Mason and Michael have survived the first wave of the apocalypse that wiped out most of the world’s population, and turned many of the rest into murderous Baggers. Now, they’re hiding out in an abandoned house in Vancouver with a ragtag group of surviving teens, and trying to figure out their next move. 

Aries is trying to lead, but it’s hard to be a leader when there are no easy answers, and every move feels wrong. Clementine is desperate to find her brother Heath, but it’s impossible to know where he’d be, even if he is still alive. Michael is still haunted by the memories of his actions during his harrowing struggle to survive. And Mason is struggling with something far worse: the fear that he may be a danger to his friends. 

As the Baggers begin to create a new world order, Aries, Clementine, Mason and Michael will have to trust and rely on each other in order to survive? (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading

48. Cruel Beauty- Rosamund Hodge

jn5

Title: Cruel Beauty

Author: Rosamund Hodge

Rating:

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Fantasy/Re-tellings

Graceling meets Beauty and the Beast in this sweeping fantasy about one girl’s journey to fulfill her destiny and the monster who gets in her way-by stealing her heart.

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.
Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she’s ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle-a shifting maze of magical rooms-enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex’s secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love. (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading

47. The Archived (#1) – Victoria Schwab

10929432

Title: The Archived (#1)

Author: Victoria Schwab

Rating:

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Fantasy

Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books.

Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures that only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.

Da first brought Mackenzie Bishop here four years ago, when she was twelve years old, frightened but determined to prove herself. Now Da is dead, and Mac has grown into what he once was, a ruthless Keeper, tasked with stopping often—violent Histories from waking up and getting out. Because of her job, she lies to the people she loves, and she knows fear for what it is: a useful tool for staying alive.

Being a Keeper isn’t just dangerous—it’s a constant reminder of those Mac has lost. Da’s death was hard enough, but now her little brother is gone too. Mac starts to wonder about the boundary between living and dying, sleeping and waking. In the Archive, the dead must never be disturbed. And yet, someone is deliberately altering Histories, erasing essential chapters. Unless Mac can piece together what remains, the Archive itself might crumble and fall.

In this haunting, richly imagined novel, Victoria Schwab reveals the thin lines between past and present, love and pain, trust and deceit, unbearable loss and hard-won redemption (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading

46. Insurgent (Divergent #2)- Veronica Roth

rothinsur

Title: Insurgent (Divergent #2)

Author: Veronica Roth

Rating:  

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Dystopian

One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so (Goodreads 2014)

  Continue reading