Stacking the Shelves: 1

I’ve not really posted any book hauls on this blog since I started it, but I’ve been inspired by Brin’s Book Blog  to do this, so here are the meme rules followed by my first Book Haul Blog, featuring the books I’ve bought this week 🙂

stacking-the-shelves

Stacking The Shelves – a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews

Here are the rules:

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

  • Participants are to create their own Stacking the Shelves post and link bank to Tynga’s Reviews so more people can join the fun!
  • Posts can be laid out any way you want.
  • The host site posts updates on a Saturday but bloggers taking part can post any day they choose.
  • Visit Tynga’s Reviews on a Saturday and add your link.
  • Visit other participants sites to find out what they have added!

The rules are simple and it is a really fun way to showcase your books and see what other bloggers are excited about this week! Not to mention the fact that it is a good way to interact with and and get to know other bloggers!”

I bought two books this week at my local waterstones. I normally buy all my books new and used on Amazon marketplace for cheap, but I splurged on these two. One is by a local Liverpudlian Author and looks quite interesting, the second I’m sure you are probably all familiar with because it’s all over the bloggosphere (and I somehow got a signed copy! Whee!)

bk1 bh2

I also got a book from The Book Despository’s 25 hour sale, which occurred on 4th March. I got this for £2.99 and it looks like it’s going to be absolutely heartwrenching. I’m a bit of a history buff and I’m interested in a lot of WW1 and WW2 fiction (along with the suffragetes, slavery and civil rights movement), and with this being published in time for the centenary anniversary of the Great War, it only felt fitting to get it

bk3

As of today, I’ve signed up for a netgalley account! Eeep, look at me trying to be all serious business book blogger-y! Anyway, I downloaded seven books from their “read now” section, in the hopes of reviewing them all successfully and getting my approval rating gradually up. I’m just going to gradually work them into my monthly TBRs . (And yes, I partly did download John Dreamer purely because A CHARACTER WITH MY NAME OHMAGAWD WHEN DOES THAT HAPPEN.)

bk4 bk5 bk6

Print bk8

bk9bk10

Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? What are your experiences of Netgalley? Any advice or tips?

Leave a Reply

