42. Endless- Amanda Gray

bk4

Title: Endless

Author: Amanda Gray

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Romance/Fantasy

Jenny Kramer knows she isn’t normal. After all, not everybody can see the past lives of people around them.

When she befriends Ben Daulton, resident new boy, the pair stumble on an old music box with instructions for “mesmerization” and discover they may have more in common than they thought. Like a past life.

Using the instructions in the music box, Ben and Jenny share a dream that transports them to Romanov Russia and leads them to believe they have been there together before. But they weren’t alone. Nikolai, the mysterious young man Jenny has been seeing in her own dreams was there, too. When Nikolai appears next door, Jenny is forced to acknowledge that he has travelled through time and space to find her. Doing so means he has defied the laws of time, and the Order, an ominous organization tasked with keeping people in the correct time, is determined to send him back. 

While Ben, Jenny and Nikolai race against the clock – and the Order – Jenny and Nikolai discover a link that joins them in life – and beyond death (Goodreads 2014)

I obtained my copy of “Endless” from Netgalley, provided by “Month9Books” publishers,and of course, Amanda Gray, in exchange for a review.

Endless first grabbed my attention when I saw that beautiful, beautiful cover art. They say don’t judge a book by it’s cover, but if I said the cover had nothing to do with me picking it up, then I’d be fibbing, so yes- that cover is absolutely gorgeous.

 I read the synopsis and while it is a little out of my usual reading (I tend to prefer books where the romance is a side-plot, not the main focus), it immediately caught my interest and before even finishing reading the synopsis, I clicked the “download” button.

 Endless follows a girl named Jenny, who has been experiencing strange visions for most of her life, mostly whenever she comes into contact with other people. She doesn’t know why, but all she knows is her best guard against this, is to wear gloves. One day she starts dreaming about a strange guy who she feels she recognises, and shortly after, runs into him in person.. Turns out he knows her from her past life. And that is all I will say about that because spoilers.

 This book really surprised me. I was fully expecting either some awful YA love triangle to spring up between Ben, Jenny and Nikolai, or at other times, was expecting characters to be misleading Jenny, which would have been annoyingly predictable. Instead this book kept to the simple main focus it originally had, which was refreshing to see. Not every character in this book was lying about who they were, and not every encounter led to a suspicious circumstance. I really did find this refreshing because so many YA books lately feel the need to make everything into a love triangle or work other unnecessary complications into the story. I found the premise of the past-life romance interesting enough by itself, and I enjoyed Jenny and Nikolai as a couple. I wasn’t expecting to get so sucked into this story, but I finished it quickly because I simply wanted to know whether it all turned out alright in the end. Did they succeed? What was the story with Ben and his mysterious father? What was Jenny’s mother really upto? And why is this secret order of “monks” following Jenny around?

 I did find the ever-common YA theme of “insta-love” a little irritating as usual, but I accepted it because I felt worked well with the fantasy and “past-life” aspect of the book. I found myself hoping for a sequel title- but sadly there seems to be no hint of that (as of yet, anyway). I really enjoyed the smooth transitions between Jenny in her current life to her flashbacks of her former self, living as Maria Romanov, in the final days of the Empire.

 I really did enjoy this book more than I originally believed I would, and got caught up in the world Gray created easily. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fantasy romance.

Leave a Reply

