44. John Dreamer- Elise Celine

bk6

Title: John Dreamer

Author: Elise Celine

Rating:

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Contemporary/Fantasy

 

Andy wasn’t usually sure about much, but she was absolutely certain this was the weirdest day of her life as she stood stranded in the middle of a great white room with six strangers. Well, they were mostly strangers. She could have sworn she’d seen the guy with the green eyes before, and maybe that was why he kept staring at her.

When a man calling himself the Guardian appeared and said they had come to make their deepest dreams come true, they embark on an adventure none of them ever imagined, and the consequences of their actions would change them forever.

“John Dreamer” is the first in a series of books set in the confines of the Great White Room (Goodreads 2014)

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review. Thanks to the author, and then publisher, Authorbuzz.

John Dreamer was a curious read which wrapped me up in it’s strange environment. The book itself is fairly short and feels more like a novella than a novel, but it works well for the format of the story, which makes you believe that you are witnessing a dream. A dream which has a limited hint of the amount of time which is passing in reality.

The story is told through the eyes of Andy, a girl who has mysteriously appeared in a large, white and seemingly endless room, with seven chairs of different styles. Each chair bares a name. One by one, six other people appear, including one guy who she feels she knows but can’t quite place, “John D. Reamer”.

I don’t want to talk too much about the plot though because I feel that is one of the things that made me keep turning the pages so quickly, I just needed to figure out what the hell was going on. It did remind me, however, of the fearscapes in Divergent, but it still had it’s own originality to it which kept it fresh and interesting.

With a small amount of time, Celine wrote some very interesting and diverse characters (oh my god I spent most of the book wanting to slap Roy upside the head), which you- for the most part- quickly got attached to. This book impressed me, it was more than I was expecting. I would have given it four stars if it had been a little longer because I feel that would’ve worked well by providing longer scenes and better character development. I gave it 3.5 stars because it does work well as it is.

This book is the first in a series, apparently, and I will be looking forward to reading any sequel published.

 

*I might not be publishing any reviews over the weekend because I still don’t have my laptop back, le woe. Hopefully I’ll get it back over the weekend (With those 5 written reviews in tact!) I’ll try to find a meme or something to do over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

