50. Adaptation- Malinda Lo

Yes it is tuesday, which tends to mean “Top Ten Tuesday” on this blog, but I honestly cannot think of 10 bookish bucket list things apart from “attend more book events” since I’ve only actually ever been to one (last year!). So in light of that: straight on to my next review!

bk5

Title: Adaptation

Author: Malinda Lo

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Paranormal

 

Reese can’t remember anything from the time between the accident and the day she woke up almost a month later. She only knows one thing: She’s different now.

Across North America, flocks of birds hurl themselves into airplanes, causing at least a dozen to crash. Thousands of people die. Fearing terrorism, the United States government grounds all flights, and millions of travelers are stranded.

Reese and her debate team partner and longtime crush David are in Arizona when it happens. Everyone knows the world will never be the same. On their drive home to San Francisco, along a stretch of empty highway at night in the middle of Nevada, a bird flies into their headlights. The car flips over. When they wake up in a military hospital, the doctor won’t tell them what happened, where they are—or how they’ve been miraculously healed.

Things become even stranger when Reese returns home. San Francisco feels like a different place with police enforcing curfew, hazmat teams collecting dead birds, and a strange presence that seems to be following her. When Reese unexpectedly collides with the beautiful Amber Gray, her search for the truth is forced in an entirely new direction—and threatens to expose a vast global conspiracy that the government has worked for decades to keep secret (Goodreads 2014)

 

 

I received a copy of this via Netgalley in exchange for a review. Many thanks to Malinda Lo, Nergalley and the Publishers:Little Brown Books for Young Readers

This is the first time I have ever read a book by this author, so I had no idea what to expect from this novel. I requested it because it sounded like a good premise for, what seemed to be, a start-of-the-apocalypse- novel. (I don’t think it counts as post-apocalyptic because it isn’t set “after” the end of the world as we know it). However, this book caught me off guard. What I was not expecting was conspiracy theories, military operations and covert secrets. Not that this was a bad thing, in fact, I was looking forward to where the story was going to go! I must acknowledge that this is neither going to be a very long or a very good review- simply because I didn’t enjoy this book. It sadly became more of a chore.

The major thing lacking for me, in this book, was any attachment to the characters. Sometimes characters just don’t click for you, and I personally didn’t really care what happened to Reese or her friends, I just was intrigued in the overriding story regarding the conspiracy theory. I struggled to finish this book just because it failed to hold my interest. Reese came across as self-absorbed and at times, ridiculous, which just made me spend a good amount of this book rolling my eyes. It’s a shame really, because I honestly thought I was going to enjoy this story. I would say that I was happy that there was an “LGBT” relationship in this book, because I believe there is a lacking representation of that population in literature generally, but it wound up annoying me because Reese made such a song and dance about it in almost every scene, when all I wanted was more information about the conspiracy and what was going on in the outside world around her- I didn’t care about her internal debate of “is this what it is like to be a lesbian?” which seemed endless. I probably would have care more if I’d felt more attached to her as a character but mostly, I just wanted her to stop whining. Maybe I would have enjoyed this if I had read it years ago when I was younger?

3 thoughts on “50. Adaptation- Malinda Lo

  1. Good review. I have a hard time soldiering through with a book when I’m not invested in the characters. It does sometimes feel like a chore. Also, when books tend to be political, I lose interest real fast. I had my eye on this one but now I’m not so sure. Oh well. Sometimes it’s hit or miss…

    • thebookheap says:

      Thanks :). I struggle sometimes to even comprehend exactly why I don’t seem to enjoy a book, for one reason or another, which makes trying to come up with a somewhat decent review tricky! If you have your eye on it, it’s probably for a reason so its worth trying out. I think most people have enjoyed this book, I’m the odd one out haha!

Leave a Reply

