Discussion: New Post Ideas?

I wanted to ask your opinion.

I was thinking that I should start posting at the weekends, just maybe on the sundays- but I couldn’t think what to do- then I had an idea, but I wonder if it is  good idea, or a crap idea.

I’m a fan of fairytales. In the sense of, the original, cautionary, actually-quite-gorey fairytales. As a result, I have a couple of books crammed with the original tales by the Brothers Grimm, Perrault etc.

I thought, what if I start a string of posts which will not only properly help me read these books, but also inspire discussions about the tales, their essences, how they’ve changed over the generations (e.g. Cinderella actually attending the ball three times and her slippers being  made of fur) and how they are perceived and their morals etc. I thought this could be an interesting thing to do because so many people only really know the Disney-fied tales and not so much the more obscure ones (myself included!)

So what if I started doing a string of discussion posts, where I talk about one fairytale a week, give  a summary of what actually happens in the fairytale, and then provide the opportunity to discuss and compare versions of the tales with you guys?

Would this be interesting to you, or just plain stupid?

27 thoughts on “Discussion: New Post Ideas?

    • thebookheap says:

      :3 I may make it like a “Friday’s Fairytales” thing. I have a massive book of grims, a small book of perrault, some retellings and Andrew Lang’s fairy books…so I have literally hundreds to work with…

      • I will be looking forward to it as I don’t really like Disney and while I own some fairy tale books , I’ve never read them properly. This will be fun:)

      • thebookheap says:

        That was what I was thinking. I’m a Disney nut but I always find it interesting to see what has changed in each retelling, and what each interpretation brings. Disney takes out a lot of violence originally, but recently it has gone back to the original scale of violence and warnings as found in the tales. The change in culture is fascinating. I especially cant walk to talk about one of my favourites: East of the Sun, West of the Moon

      • It’s funny you mention that as my stepdad and I were just discussing violence in Disney movies during Frozen. I think the darker element has made its way back into the movies, for sure. Oooh, I don’t know that tale 🙂

      • thebookheap says:

        Yeah and the villain in the princess and the frog springs to mind because he was actually pretty disturbing! You might recognise the tale in passing, about the polar bear king? I might make that my first one haha

      • Nope. Not ringing a bell but I want to know all about it now!! I will refrain from looking into it and let you be the one to enlighten me 🙂

      • thebookheap says:

        Are there any tales you would like to see generally? I was just going to work through my Grimms book in order haha

      • Oh yes. I always felt bad for the princess who is stuck spinning the straw into gold and this impish dwarf who is threatening to kill her and take her first born. *shudders*

  1. I would love this, really like Fairy Tales. I love seeing the differences between the original FT and then the modern re-tellings. This sounds like loads of fun. You should let us know which Fairy Tale you will be talking about next week at the end of your post so people can check it out and be ready for the next weeks discussion 🙂

    • thebookheap says:

      Ahh that’s a good idea! Thanks for suggesting that- it would make for better discussions once I post them! I think my first one is going to be East of the Sun, West of the Moon or The Sleeping Beauty in the Wood 🙂

Leave a Reply

