General: Liebster Award!

Last night I came home to find that the lovely Annette/Booknerderie, had nominated me for something called a Liebster Award, which is an award given by bloggers to bloggers to kind of promote and appreciate them as being newish blogs. The rules are below:

liebster-award-rules

 

 

oooh this made my day, let me tell you. My blog doesn’t have many followers (those who do follow are brilliant! I’ve enjoyed many conversations with you all!), and I started up this blog with a lot of nerves that I wouldn’t be good enough to do it successfully, so it’s nice to see that it has made something of an impression somewhere!

Under the cut are the meme-ish things that I have to do for receiving this nomination, and then I will nominate my 11 other bloggers with the award in return!

11 Facts about myself:

 

1. I am currently unemployed. I spent last year balancing 3 jobs- my full time Masters course, my part time weekend work and my voluntary work. Now I’m down to just having my voluntary work. Oops? Oh well, hopefully I’ll get a job soon!

 

2. I love learning languages. I have my certificate in Sign Language (Level 2) and I self taught myself some Japanese in my gap year 5 years ago- I remember a surprising amount.

 

3.I have 2 cats and one dog. The cats are 13-14 and the dog is 3 this summer.

 

4. I have ridiculous curly hair. It would’ve fit into the height of fashion had I lived in Austen’s time but these days? You pretty much get told to straighten it daily- so I rebel and enjoy the ringlets. Took me years to grow to love my curls.

 

5. I’m from Liverpool, England but I really dislike the Beatles.

 

6. I see to have accidentally acquired a collection of Stitch merchandise. As in from “Lilo and Stitch”. I have keyrings, pens, cuddly toys, little figurines. It’s getting a bit out of hand.

 

7. I absolutely love my voluntary work and really hope I can start doing it full time in the next 2 years.

 

8.I am the younger sister of two and we are pretty much polar opposites.

 

9. I love old movies, you cannot go wrong with Audrey Hepburn, Katherine Hepburn, Cary Grant and Gregory Peck.

 

10. I am 24 years old on saturday holy moly.

 

11. I bite my nails something chronic. I managed to grow them for the first time in …2011- but then as soon as I got my weekend work job, I bit them all right down again. Le sigh. I’m fed up of having sore fingers!

 

Now it’s time for Annette’s questions!

1.How old were you when you first realized you were hooked on books?

I was eleven.. How do I know I was 11? because the film “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” came out in cinemas in the November, I went straight home and picked up my sister’s copy of the books.

2.If you could live in any literary world, which would it be?

Definitely the Wizarding World. It was the first and best example of a time where I got so completely sucked into the written world that it could easily believe it was real. It didn’t take me any extra effort along with the plot to remember the shop names on Diagon Alley or the rhyme in Gringotts Vault. To remember all the little details about the spells and the teachers and the animals. A lot of other books have tried to make the same details matter but it just hasn’t gelled for me at all. The fact I haven’t re-read the books in about 4 years and I still remember little things about the environments within the stories is pretty remarkable.

3.How many books {round about} would you say you own?

Erm…altogether? Around 300. About 60 are paperback. I recently went on a binge and rebought all my favourite books in cheap hardbacks (thank you amazon marketplace). Simply because I prefer shiny hardcovers and they last longer. And look nicer on your shelves mwahaha.

4.Do you prefer to buy books or get them from the library?

I haven’t used our libraries since I was about 9. Mainly because our selections are crap here in the UK. Unless it is like the main library- fiction just isn’t really given the applause it deserves and it takes a back seat. I always however buy my books “new and used” on the marketplace so instead of paying £15 for a hardback, I only pay around £3 for it.

 5.How many books are on your TBR list?

According to my goodreads, my TBR list stands at around 235.

6.If you could meet any author, dead or alive, who would it be?

I don’t really know to be honest. I mean J.K Rowling is pretty obvious for everybody in our generation of book lovers so, maybe Neil Gaiman, Harper Lee or Marcus Zusak.

7.What is your favorite book?

My favourite book is The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak and Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

8.If someone asked you to recommend 5 books {stand alone or series}, which would they be?

Okay recommendations…erm…

  • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
  • Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
  • Northanger Abbey- Jane Austen
  • Can You Keep a Secret?- Sophie Kinsella
  • The Help- Katheryn Stockett

 

9.Do you have a favorite reading spot?

 

My bedroom, I guess?

10.What’s the funniest book you’ve ever read?

Can you keep a secret? By Sophie Kinsella

or- for non-fiction- Bossypants by Tina Fey

11.How do you feel about books with movie covers?

BLAH. I always try to get the original cover. Always.

 

The bloggers I nominate, who I either presume or know have under 200 followers:-

 

  1. Jennylikesbooks
  2. Broc’s Bookcase
  3. Morphy’s Book Blog
  4. thebookboozer
  5. Scriberblog
  6. thesmellofbook

 

and here are your questions:

 

1.If you had the chance to rewrite the ending of a book, which book would you choose, and why?

2.How have you found your book blogging experience so far?

3.What is your favourite Season?

4. Favourite book genre?

5. Most influential book you’ve read?

6. Most under-appreciated book in your opinion?

7. Did you read much by yourself as a child?

8. Audiobooks: Yay, or Nay?

9. Do you prefer books with “Classic” looking covers (aka just the title in simple font) or do you

prefer the more modern versions with images and pictures on the cover?

10. Do you have a goodreads account?

11. Do you want to be an author yourself? Or are you happy just to be a reader?

Annnd here is your award for being wonderful!

liebsteraward

14 thoughts on “General: Liebster Award!

  1. I LOVE IT ALL 🙂 great answers {I too would choose the wizarding world for the same exact reasons} I love your questions. Brilliant job!! I’ll have to find you on good reads to see this ginormous TBR list 😉

  2. I’m impressed at your ability to learn languages! I am completely useless at that. What does your voluntary work involve? I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you on the job front! My only advise is to just be patient and don’t give up. You’ll find something great!

    • thebookheap says:

      My voluntary work involves a broad range of things. I’m very careful what I put about it online just incase but if I can figure out a way to private message you, I’ll tell you 🙂

  3. I’m impressed at your ability to learn languages! What does your voluntary work involve? I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you on the job front! My only advise is to just be patient and don’t give up. You’ll find something great!

Leave a Reply

