58. The Scorpio Races- Maggie Stiefvater

tsr

Title: The Scorpio Races

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Fantasy

It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die.

At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.

Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a chance. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen (Goodreads 2014)

The story follows a small community on an island who seem to hold a race every year, which involves riders generally being stupid, in my opinion, and challenging each other to ride along this beach on these cannibalistic water horses, trying to keep them from turning on their riders and eating them alive before disappearing back into the sea. While I understand that the winnings would be a bit pot of money- I still wouldn’t do it.

I had heard mixed things about this book- some people love it, some hate it. This was my first time reading a Stiefvater book as I haven’t read her earlier Shiver trilogy or her more recent Raven Boys series- but something about this just fell flat to me. I wanted to know whether these sea horses occurred world wide or if they were just limited to the island? Why are they actually called the “Scorpio” races? (Or did I completely miss that part in the book, I admit after halfway I was pretty much skimming the book) And why the hell did everybody feel the need to compete in this race, aside from the winnings? I mean nobody and it seemed nothing was really forcing them to race. As for the characters, I really didn’t develop any attachment to them at all. I wanted to like this book but sometimes it just doesn’t happen. C’est La Vie, eh?

8 thoughts on “58. The Scorpio Races- Maggie Stiefvater

  1. This premise sounds dumb. And I won’t be reading it. However, I LOVED THE RAVEN BOYS!!!!! Loved it. So, this was probably not the right book of hers to start with 🙂 you should give TRB a chance.

    • thebookheap says:

      Exactly I mean..it seemed fine and then I read it and was like “wait…whut?”. I do want to try TRB cos I’ve heard good things

      • I know, water horses that eat humans? That’s just…no. And yes, it’s so good. And the final installment comes out in October so you won’t have to wait forever 🙂 if you like it…which you will!!

  2. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy this book! This was actually my first Stievfater book, too. I remember liking it a lot 😀 I read Shiver, but I don’t think I finished it. If you give her other books a shot, I hope to see your reviews!

  3. arianrhod123 says:

    I enjoyed this book, but I can totally understand why you might not like it as much. I’d definitely recommend The Raven Boys though, because it has a great story.

    • thebookheap says:

      Yeah i’ve heard TRB cycle is much better than the scorpio races so it’s definitley on my list 🙂

Leave a Reply

