Bonus Post: Happy St George’s Day!

drago1

(from Innocent smoothies twitter! bwahha)

Happy St George’s Day guys! I always feel that poor old St George hardly ever gets a look in compared to the ever popular St Paddy’s day, even though you know- he did slay a dragon. I mean, whats a guy got to do around here to get some recognition in his own country for being the Patron Saint eh?! For those who do not know the story of St George, you can find it here

In other news, It’s Shakespeare’s 450th Birthday and World Book Night. I intend to spend the whole day reading because of this. In honour of Shakey’s birthday, have one of my favourite quotes from my favourite play of his: Much Ado About Nothing

I can see he’s not in your good books,’ said the messenger.
‘No, and if he were I would burn my library.”  – Beatrice

Do any of you enjoy Shakespeare? What is your favourite of his works? I tend to only enjoy his works when I actually see them performed on stage as I struggle reading them in their scripted form.

10 thoughts on “Bonus Post: Happy St George’s Day!

    • thebookheap says:

      My friend got to study the comedies in her school and I got stuck with the tragedies. I wouldve enjoyed the comedies much more. I hated Romeo and Juliet (still do), and King Lear bored me to tears haha

      • I wasn’t very fond of Romeo and Juliet, either >.< I don't even remember much from that one, heheh. There was another one I read, but the name has slipped my mind. It was incredibly boring, though.

      • thebookheap says:

        R&J annoyed me too much. It makes me laugh when people say “oh me and so-and-so are like Romeo and Juliet…destined!” And I’m just like “for what, death and the slaughter of half your families? Fun times”.

  1. I’m the same, I enjoy his plays but struggle to read them. The book I just read/reviewed has a fun running dialogue about Shakespeare. You’d love it. Also, the book Life After Life is one you’ll like too! Women in WWII 🙂

      • I had a rough go at it but in the end, it was worth it. I mentioned you in my review 😉 I was like, “Andie would love this!!” Nice St. George post by the way! I’m going to read up on it now!!

      • thebookheap says:

        Awh I did see your review and it made me smile that you mentioned me! Bwahaha. St George FTW! I’ll need to have a think about what books I can recommend to you!

Leave a Reply

