Top Ten Tuesday 12: Books I managed not to abandon…

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, featuring a different top 10 theme each week.

This week the topic is 10 books which you very nearly abandoned, but managed not to.

I have a system when I read, because I don’t believe in wasting my precious free time reading a book I am not enjoying. I will give every book a fair chance, but if I don’t care and I’m not paying attention properly by page 60, then something just is not working out, and there are so many books I want to read, it isn’t worth me wasting my time on a book which I really cannot be bothered with.

So with that in mind, what books did I manage to persevere through until the end? I’ve split this week’s challenge into two sections: books I am glad I struggled through, and books I wish I had followed my gut instinct on and put down for a new one.

Books I am glad I struggled through because the story was actually pretty good!

ttt111p&p

blackout afarewell

jellicoe

and the five I wish I had put down anyway because they drained my will to live?

bk5chnln

stf tind

afk

What about you guys? Bet some of these books are your favourites (looking at you, Anna and the FK fans)!

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday 12: Books I managed not to abandon…

  1. I really want to read Pride and Prejudice! Since it’s a classic I’m planning for it to be slow going, though. I’ve read The Forsaken and I agree – it wasn’t a great book and was hard to get through.

    • thebookheap says:

      Pride and Prejudice is great. I tried reading it when I was 15 but really struggled with the language so didn’t make it past chapter 7. But I studied Austen’s Emma in 6th form and because of that had a much better grasp of her writing and the language from the time, so when I picked up P&P when I was 19, I really- *really* enjoyed it! I’m thinking of doing an AUSTEN AUGUST month on my blog if you’d be interested in joining in- going to re-read P&P and another Austen along with some Austen related books…

      ugh the forsaken. I started out okay but it just went downhill

    • thebookheap says:

      I have reviews on both of those books on here so if you want, you can see exactly why I disliked them both but yeah…ugh lol

  2. arianrhod123 says:

    I read North and South recently after watching the BBC version and loved it. It did take me a while to get through it though. I haven’t read Pride and Prejudice, although I plan to at some point. 🙂

    • thebookheap says:

      I honestly think i would’ve struggled with north and south had I not watched the BBC drama. I love how loving and caring Darcy and Thornton come across in the books compared to the dramas

  3. Ha, I was disappointed by There Is No Dog! I didn’t manage to come up with a top 10 list this week — but I had, this should have been on it! I really loved some of the author’s other books and had high expectations, but just found this one rather baffling. I did like Anna and the FK — and I think some of that comes down to timing, because it was exactly what I was in the mood for right that moment. Love P&P, always! Great list. 🙂

    • thebookheap says:

      I haven’t read any of her other works, although I do want to read Picture Me Gone, but TIND just went from “weird” to “wtf this is bad” haha

      • Oh, I didn’t really care for Picture Me Gone either… but I loved How I Live Now, The Bride’s Farewell, and What I Was. (Didn’t get to see the movie version of How I Live Now that came out a few months ago, but I’d really like to!)

Leave a Reply

