Tag: The Book Blogger Test

bookbloggertest

Thanks to Ruth/Brin @ Bringuivera for tagging me to do this, I love me a good book tag!

And I tagged some people so you’ll want to check it! ;3

What are your top 3 book pet hates?

 

Mid-series cover changes are definitely up there.

 

I also need all my series to match on my shelves. If one is hardback then the rest absolutely must be hardback. Same with designs. My Harry Potter series is an example of this. Books 1-6 are the original “childrens” UK covers. You know, the bright and colourful cartoon style ones? The Deathly Hallows however, is the adult, darker UK cover with the locket on the front. Sometimes I just sit there twitching at it but I can’t justify buying a matching version when my copy is in fine condition. Le sigh.

 

My third pet peeve…I don’t actually think I have a third one, really.

 

Describe your perfect reading spot

 

I often read lying on my stomach, on my bed. Which is right by my window meaning I get lots of natural light to read in and often my cat curls up on my back while I’m reading.

 

Tell us three book confessions?

 

– I could not get through Shatter me. I think I made it to about page 5 when she unleashed some horrific anecdote about how she was like the rain or something and I just burst out laughing. It was pretty terrible and I could not bring myself to continue.

 

– I stay away from angsty books which have long term illness in them, much like I do movies. It hits too close to home and I just wind up wanting to throw something. Also I don’t tend to read a lot of contemporary fiction, mainly because I don’t empathise/understand romance or romantic feelings, so I disagree with a lot of the decision making in those books.

 

And a third confession… despite my dad being a huge LOTR geek and myself knowing most of the movie scripts due to this fact, I just could not get into the books. I made it halfway through the Two Towers and I was bored during the Battle of Helm’s Deep. I also did not enjoy the Hobbit. I think I just don’t enjoy Tolkien’s writing, which is a shame but what can you do.

 

When was the last time you cried during a book?

 

Fairly recently actually, for me. Which is just unusual because I’m not really one who cries. Code Name Verity definitely had me in tears!

 

How many books are on your bedside table?

 

Well my bedside table is actually a tiny bookcase so…er… haha.

I have two on top of it at the moment, and then about 20-22 books inside it.

 

Favourite snack to eat when reading?

I don’t tend to eat while I read really, it’s too distracting.

Name three books you would recommend to everyone?

 

  1. The Book Thief- Marcus Zusak
  2. Code Name Verity- Elizabeth Wein
  3. Can You Keep a Secret?- Sophie Kinsella

 

Show us a picture of your favourite bookshelf on your bookcase.

 

I’m lazy and cannot be bothered moving- so have an older picture from when I first assembled/filled my new ikea bookcase X3 (the bottom shelf is now full of books to be read)

 

Write how much books mean to you in just three words

 

Knowledge is power.

 

I honestly feel this phrase will never be irrelevant to books, even if it is only fiction you read. My main example here is Bradbury’s Farenheit 451. Imagine a world where all books were banned. You are not allowed to ponder or imagine, to critique or question. Along with almost no creativity. There is a big uproar in the UK at the moment because we’ve just had some American books banned from the school list purely because they are not written by British authors- including To Kill a Mockingbird.

 

I’m still in a rage about this one. Basically, I don’t believe in censorship and books are most thoughtful and inspiring way to question not only the world you live in, but also how you decide to behave within that world, which affects those who live around you.

 

What is your biggest reading secret?

 

I’m not sure I have a reading secret, as such. Sometimes if I’m bored within a book but want to know how it ends, I will skip ahead/skim to the end of the book. But to be honest, I’ll be surprised if I’m the only one who does that. Time is precious and I’m not going to spend it forcing myself to finish a book I’m not enjoying at all when I could be using that time to read my potential-next-favourite book.

 

Taggity tag tag?

 

I tag…

 

Alison @ thecheapreader

Chrissi @ Chrissireads

Lipsy@ Lipsyy

Nafiza @ Bibliophilic Monologues 

CJ @ thebookboozer

9 thoughts on “Tag: The Book Blogger Test

  1. Great answers! I have been really annoyed at all the controversy about American books in schools. These books are classics (especially To Kill a Mockingbird – the only book I read in school that I instantly loved). It makes me mad that kids may never be exposed to truly fantastic literature. I am all for promoting British authors but not at the exclusion of others.

    • thebookheap says:

      same here. I don’t understand it at all. I mean we studied Orwell and Atwood (fair enough, at A level), but I don’t see why they can’t just put an emphasis on BritLit and then throw the big american ones like Mockingbird into the mix.

      • I know what you mean – I just cannot fathom why they want to exclude such brilliant books just because the author isn’t British. It doesn’t sit right with me at all.

        When I first read about it online, I ranted at my partner for about half an hour straight! He isn’t a reader so he just nodded along and agreed with me. Lol 😉

      • thebookheap says:

        yeah, luckily my dad is a book lover like us so he ranted with me bwahaha my mother was a bit scared.

Leave a Reply

