74. The Graveyard Book- Neil Gaiman

tgbng

 

Title: The Graveyard Book

Author: Neil Gaiman

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Fiction/Young Adult> Supernatural/Fantasy

IT TAKES A GRAVEYARD TO RAISE A CHILD.

Nobody Owens, known to his friends as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn’t live in a sprawling graveyard, being raised and educated by ghosts, with a solitary guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor of the dead. There are dangers and adventures in the graveyard for a boy – an ancient indigo man, a gateway to abandoned city of ghouls, the strange and terrible fleer. But if Bod leaves the graveyard, then he will be in danger from the man Jack – who has already killed Bod’s family . . .” (Goodreads 2014)

Gaiman does it again in this wonderfully built world of graveyards, ghouls and humanity. This is probably my second favourite work of Gaiman’s, right after Neverwhere. It is dark, it has moments of humour, moments of heart hurting truth and moments of joy.

The story follows Nobody Owens, or “Bod”, who became an Orphan as a baby when his family were murdered. However, Bod had somehow crawled out of his cot, down the stairs, out of the house and away from the killer. By the time they found him, he was in the local Graveyard, where he automatically fell under the care and “Protection of the Graveyard”. Nothing bad or evil could touch him as long as he remained in the Graveyard. The story jumps ahead to when Bod is around the age of 10, when he starts to actively question why nobody else around him is…alive, and why he can never leave the graveyard, these questions especially come up once he has met a girl his age who visits the graveyard with her mother occasionally. Suddenly the story takes a much darker turn and it becomes a chase, literally, between life and death.

I never have much to say in my Gaiman reviews really, mainly because everything is positive and I can’t seem to find anything to critique. (Maybe American Gods, but I’ll come back to that another day). I loved this story. Gaiman is a master world-builder anyway, but the characters are some of his most memorable. I grew so attached to Bod and all of the residents of the Graveyard. I laughed, I certainly cried, and I just overall adored every page.

If you dare nothing, then when the day is over, nothing is all you will have gained

BONUS: Note to all fans of this book, they are releasing a graphic novel of The Graveyard Book at the end of july and it is going to be a thing of beauty!!

tgybgn

17 thoughts on “74. The Graveyard Book- Neil Gaiman

  1. I’m so glad you loved this book! It is definitely my second favorite, right behind The Ocean at the End of the Lane 🙂 I’m reading American Gods right now!

    • thebookheap says:

      I absolutely loved the graveyard book

      The only book of Gaiman’s I did not finish was American Gods. I even enjoyed the prequel “Anansi Boys”, but I just got halfway through A.G and wound up putting it down (for the time being, anwyay)

      • thebookheap says:

        mmmm, I was really into it when I began it and then somewhere around the middle section of the book, it really became a struggle to pick it up. A lot of other reviewers seem to think similar though so it’s nice to know I’m not alone in it haha

    • thebookheap says:

      : D I’m so excited for it and I don’t even read Graphic Novels really! I love the look of the artwork in it! (going from the front cover design)

  2. I’m reading this with my kids now. While they are enjoying it, I’m also wondering if I should wait for the graphic novel.

    Oh, BTW, I found your blog through booknerderie–now you’ve got a new follower (me).

    • thebookheap says:

      I think even though I’m not personally a fan of graphic novels (and I’m not too impressed personally, with what I have read of Gaiman’s Sandman so far), I will be getting the Graveyard Book in GN, if only because the artwork in it looks lovely. How are you finding the book itself? I know you said your kids are enjoying it, but what do you think of it? 🙂

      Awh brilliant- thank you! I follow all of my followers back so there ya go!

      • I read the book last year after discovering Gaiman–loved it. My first try with Gaiman was Ocean, but was caught off guard (need to go back and read it again). Loved American Gods, and the rest is history. The second read through of Graveyard is great, though I think I like it even more than the young ones.

        Thanks!

      • thebookheap says:

        My first Gaiman was Stardust, followed by my favourite of Neverwhere (So, so good!). Ocean is one I definitely need to re-read. I went to the book tour signing in Bath (the first date on the tour itself) and I was so floored by the book I couldn’t put a review into words for it! Must fix that soon!

Leave a Reply

