76. Can You Keep A Secret?- Sophie Kinsella

NB: I normally post “Friday’s Fairytales on well…fridays. But this week and next week has been/will be so hectic that I don’t have time to sit down and read all the information I do for them- so that feature will be on a temporary hiatus for two weeks.

ttvdaycyks

Title: Can You Keep A Secret?

Author: Sophie Kinsella

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Fiction> Romance/Contemporary

Meet Emma Corrigan, a young woman with a huge heart, an irrepressible spirit, and a few little secrets: ” Secrets from her boyfriend: “I’ve always thought Connor looks a bit like Ken. As in Barbie and Ken.” Secrets from her mother: ” I lost my virginity in the spare bedroom with Danny Nussbaum while Mum and Dad were downstairs watching “Ben-Hur”.

Secrets she wouldn’t share with anyone in the world: “I have no idea what NATO stands for. Or even what it is. Until she spills them all to a handsome stranger on a plane. At least, she thought he was a stranger….Until Emma comes face-to-face with Jack Harper, the company’s elusive CEO, a man who knows every single humiliating detail about her… (Goodreads 2014)

This was my first Kinsella, and what a way to start reading her books. I first read this back in 2007, actually, so this review is LONG overdue!

Can You Keep A Secret?” is a hilarious story of a woman who says all the wrong things to a complete stranger on a plane, during a scary couple of minutes. She “word vomits” everything and anything embarrassing about her life to this random guy. They survive the journey (see: mild turbulance.) and she is mortified to find out that the guy from the plane, is actually her new boss at work.

Oops.

Kinsella has a very enjoyable writing style and throughout this book, I found myself laughing beside myself, enough to make my eyes tear up and my ribs sore. There is one specific scene I always remember distinctly, where Emma, the new boss and Emma’s boyfriend endure an awkward lift journey together and I was just cracking up for a good five minutes!

Emma is a very likeable character but what I liked most about her is that unlike many other “chicklit authors”, Emma didn’t feel like a cliché. She stands out from the crowd and you  sympathise entirely with her in her awkward situations and bad timing, rather than laugh at her. I also enjoyed reading about the various characters Emma encounters at work on daily basis and all the drama that goes with them, including her flatmate and her weird boyfriend- another factor in which other “chicklit” authors have bored me to tears with.

I really grew attached to the characters in the story and genuinely cared about what happened to them. Kinsella is definitely my favourite “chicklit” author so far and I would recommend her to anyone looking for a fluffy, light read!

 

One thought on “76. Can You Keep A Secret?- Sophie Kinsella

Leave a Reply

