77. The Shadow of the Wind- Carlos Ruiz Zafon

sotw

Title: The Shadow of the Wind

Author: Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Rating:  

On the Shelves: Fiction> Historical Fiction (maybe?)

 

Barcelona, 1945: A city slowly heals in the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War, and Daniel, an antiquarian book dealer’s son who mourns the loss of his mother, finds solace in a mysterious book entitled The Shadow of the Wind, by one Julián Carax. But when he sets out to find the author’s other works, he makes a shocking discovery: someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book Carax has written. In fact, Daniel may have the last of Carax’s books in existence. Soon Daniel’s seemingly innocent quest opens a door into one of Barcelona’s darkest secrets–an epic story of murder, madness, and doomed love. (Goodreads 2014)

This book took me quite a while to get through, and while that is not a bad thing, I was very stressed and busy at the time whilst reading it. So I acknowledge I probably did not enjoy this as much as I could have because of this factor, and will probably re-read it in the future and maybe then continue on with the series, but for now? I’m not planning to carry on with it at this time.

In reference to this book, a lot of the hype around it has centred more around Zafon’s writing than the actual plot of the story. I can understand why. Zafon creates a beautifully crafted, entirely believable in-depth world which is both somehow romantic and creepy at the same time. Zafon’s book actually winds up being stories within a story, instead of just one individual story. Which I think may be while I felt like I was being overwhelmed a little bit by some of it, when I was just too tired to concentrate.

The story begins, as the synopsis says, with young Daniel being taken into a strange bookshop and finding, by chance, a very rare and valuable book by an author named Julian Carax. The rest of the story unfolds as Daniel tries to figure out what happened to Carax, why his books are disappearing, and who is threatening him to surrender the book. It’s full of mystery, intrigue and bittersweet stories.  I definitely recommend this generally, I feel if I had been reading this at a better time in my life, I would’ve given it four stars. I still want to. But it’s staying at three- for now.

3 thoughts on “77. The Shadow of the Wind- Carlos Ruiz Zafon

  1. Really interested in reading this! I have The Prisoner of Heaven and have only heard great things. Good writing can cover a multitude of sins so I’m glad to hear his writing was beautiful. I’d heard a lot of hype as well. This story sounds interesting to me. Definitely will check it out! Great review!

    • thebookheap says:

      Exactly, I’m definitely keeping hold of my copy for when I’m in the mood to re-read it in the future!

Leave a Reply

