89. Kill Me Softly- Sarah Cross

kmf

Title: Kill Me Softly

Author: Sarah Cross

Rating:  

On the Shelves: Young Adult Fiction> Fantasy/Re-tellings

 

Mirabelle’s past is shrouded in secrecy, from her parents’ tragic deaths to her guardians’ half-truths about why she can’t return to her birthplace, Beau Rivage. Desperate to see the town, Mira runs away a week before her sixteenth birthday—and discovers a world she never could have imagined.

In Beau Rivage, nothing is what it seems—the strangely pale girl with a morbid interest in apples, the obnoxious playboy who’s a beast to everyone he meets, and the chivalrous guy who has a thing for damsels in distress. Here, fairy tales come to life, curses are awakened, and ancient stories are played out again and again.

But fairy tales aren’t pretty things, and they don’t always end in happily ever after. Mira has a role to play, a fairy tale destiny to embrace or resist. As she struggles to take control of her fate, Mira is drawn into the lives of two brothers with fairy tale curses of their own . . . brothers who share a dark secret. And she’ll find that love, just like fairy tales, can have sharp edges and hidden thorns (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading

Advertisements

88. The Girl with All the Gifts- M. R. Carey

bk1

Title: The Girl with all the Gifts.

Author: M. R. Carey

Rating: ★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Horror

Melanie is a very special girl.

Dr Caldwell calls her “our little genius.”

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her.

She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.
Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells.

She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin and Neil Gaiman. (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading

Austen August Read-a-long: update 4- It’s nearly here!

p&penl

In just FIVE days, I will be opening my copy of pride and prejudice, reading 2 chapters, and posting the chapter summaries to tempt discussions on the goodreads group!  This read-a-long and the group is open to anyone and everyone who fancies re-reading this book along with the other three I will be reading in the month of August, so feel free to join in! We already have 33 members which is amazing because I only ever thought maybe six people would want to join me in this, I’m so excited to see how many people are interested in doing this!

The read-a-long will last from 1st August- 31st August,

Stacking the Shelves 6!

stacking-the-shelves

a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews

It’s been a while since I did a book haul, eh?! I managed to actually acquire some new books this month. Someone take netgalley away from me! I’m like a month behind on my netgalley reviews cos I took a breather from ebooks- and next month I’ll be even more behind because of Austen August! Oops! I’ll be doing a month later this year dedicated solely to reading Netgalley books so hopefully I’ll catch up then!

Here is my July Book Haul

Continue reading

87. Let the Great World Spin- Colum McCann

ltgws

Title: Let the Great World Spin

Author: Colum McCann

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Fiction> Contemporary

 

An American masterpiece from internationally bestselling novelist Colum McCann—a dazzling and hauntingly rich vision of the loveliness, pain, and mystery of New York City in the 1970s

In the dawning light of the late summer morning, the people of lower Manhattan stand hushed, staring up in disbelief at the Twin Towers. . . . It is August, 1974, and a tightrope walker is running, dancing, leaping between the towers, suspended a quarter-mile in the sky. In the streets below, ordinary lives become extraordinary as award-winning novelist Colum McCann crafts this stunningly realized portrait of a city and its people.

Corrigan, a radical young Irish monk, struggles with his own demons as he lives among prostitutes in the Bronx. A group of mothers, gathered in a Park Avenue apartment to mourn the sons who died in Vietnam, discovers how much divides them even in their grief. Further uptown, Tillie, a thirty-eight-year-old grandmother, turns tricks alongside her teenaged daughter, determined not only to take care of her “babies” but to prove her own worth.

Elegantly weaving together these and other seemingly disparate lives, McCann’s powerful novel comes alive in the unforgettable voices of the city’s people, unexpectedly drawn together by hope, beauty, and the tightrope walker’s “artistic crime of the century.” 

McCann’s most ambitious work to date, Let the Great World Spin s an unmistakable and triumphantly American masterpiece (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading