Top Ten Tuesday 17: Classics!

This will be a non-pretty graphics post because I’m not on my own laptop this morning, le sigh.

 

ttt

As usual, the weekly meme hosted by the broke and the bookish, this week asking people what their top ten classics are.

This will be spread into the top 5 I have read, and top 5 I didn’t enjoy, since I haven’t read many classics.

Top 5 Classics I have Read

Jane Eyre

Northanger Abbey

Pride and Prejudice

(for those interested in the August Read-a-Long of P&P, click HERE)

To Kill a Mockingbird

(Atticus Finch whut a BAMF)

A Christmas Carol

BONUS: North and South

(I just couldn’t leave it out!)

Top 5 Classics I did not enjoy

The Great Gatsby

(not so great, actually)

The Canterbury Tales

Romeo and Juliet

Hedda Gabbler

The Bell Jar

I read HG, The Canterbury tales and Romeo and Juliet in school- and snored through all three of them.

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday 17: Classics!

  1. Yay, I’m so happy you enjoyed reading North And South, too! It’s one of my favorite classics of all time and I’m actually just so excited that it is mentioned in a TTT post! 😀

      • thebookheap says:

        I always get a bit torn between whether I prefer it to p&p or not. They are quite similar in a lot of ways

      • Agreed! But I still like North and South better though since I had to read P&P in school which kind of debilitated the magic of the book a bit for me.
        I also liked the setting of NaS more …for me, .it’s a bit more memorable!

      • thebookheap says:

        Yeah I’m a little like that too, in terms of the environment and serious tones of N&S- it isn’t just “rich white people problems”, it is actually an interesting economic situation to read into- speaking as someone who comes from the busy lancashire/working class district of North England myself.

  2. It’s always a bummer that school makes you dislike some classics. I wonder how many books we would enjoy if we read them on our own?

    Great list!

    • thebookheap says:

      Yeah i wonder that too. :/ I feel that studying every single sentence at one chapter a week just takes the fun out of it

  3. Jane Eyre ❤ it's a favorite of mine. Haven't read Northanger Abbey but it sounds wonderful! Ugh, Romeo and Juliet. I don't appreciate that work of Shakespeare. I much prefer The Taming of the Shrew to it. Great lists! 🙂

    • thebookheap says:

      Same here, I seem to prefer the comedies but only got to study the tragedies, ugh. I also react better to Shakey when I watch the plays rather than reading them. Jane Eyre and Northanger Abbey are both so good!

  4. I haven’t read many classics either. Yeah, I never understood required reading for school. I had to read The Diary of Anne Frank five times in my schooling… The first time it was too sad for me, but okay. After about the third time I’d groan every time it was assigned. And we’d read it aloud in class too, so there was no getting out of it.

    • thebookheap says:

      We never studied it but I always hated when the class would read aloud because it would take ages and would always be read in a boring monotone =(

  5. Ooo, now I have to read to Kill a Mockingbird, I want to know why and how Atticus is so a BAMF, haha. I agree with all your favorites, but…noooo, not the not so great Gatsby! I loved that book! Oh, well, haha all kinds of different opinions, I suppose. I’ve never even heard about Hedda Gabbler. What’s it about?

    • thebookheap says:

      Atticus Finch is basically, despite his flaws, who I think all of humanity should aspire to be like. Don’t worry too much, most people seem to adore Gatsby. Hedda Gabbler is a play by Ibsen. I studied it for Drama and theatre A level and my god it was boring

      • I’ve been hearing so many good things about To Kill a Mockingbird in general, so I can’t wait to get a copy. And okay, haha, it doesn’t sound too interesting from the title, either.

  6. Elen @ A World of Reviews says:

    North & South is such a brilliant book! Now I’m tempted to reread it. 🙂 I didn’t like Romeo & Juliet either in school, and I was so jealous of the other classes that got to do Macbeth.

    • thebookheap says:

      I did r&j, Macbeth and king Lear. I was jealous of my friends who got to study the comedies! I have so much love for north and south!

Leave a Reply

