80. We’ll Always Have Paris- Ray Bradbury

rbwahp

Title: We’ll Always Have Paris

Author: Ray Bradbury

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Fiction> Anthology

In “We’ll Always Have Paris”–a new collection of stories gathered together for the first time–the inimitable Ray Bradbury once again delights us with prose that soars and sings. He imagines great things and poignantly observes human foibles and frailties. He enchants us with the magic he mastered decades ago and still performs flawlessly. Whether he’s exploring the myriad ways to be reborn, or the circumstances that can make any man a killer, or returning us to Mars, Bradbury opens the world to us and beckons us in. His tales will live forever–we will always have Bradbury.” (Goodreads 2014)

I’ve been wanting to read more of Bradbury since I read, and loved, Farenheit 451. I also read his delightfully creepy “Something Wicked This Way Comes” for Halloween in 2013. This is my third exposure to his style of writing. “We’ll always have Paris” is a collection of short stories written by Bradbury throughout his career as an author. I must say, I was a little on the fence with this one. Some of Bradbury’s tales were enjoyable and had me on the edge of my seat, wondering what was happening, for example “Reincarnation”. Some of them were touching and made me feel a variety of emotions, be it sad, or sweet, e.g. “Pater Caninus”, “Pieta Summer” (which reminded me a lot of “Something Wicked This Way Comes”) or “If Paths Must Cross Again”… But I won’t lie, some of them I found boring and one or two I found quite disturbing- and not in a good way (“When the Bough Breaks”).

I think this goes to show that while it is possible to have favourite stories, this does not necessarily make them your favourite author, and if they are your “favourite” author, it does not mean you necessarily agree with every one of their opinions or beliefs.  I think I am happy to say that Bradbury is one of my favourite authors, from what I have read so far. While I find plenty of issues within his writing- some of which can be awarded to the context of his writing, the time and place etc, I can certainly appreciate that throughout this book I neither put it down out of boredom, and also that he caused me to feel a wide variety of feelings, regardless of my personal opinions surrounding the topics.

This is a nice little collection of Bradbury’s writing, which comes in handy if you enjoyed one of his novels and would like to dip your toes into more of his works, and want to see how he authors various genres of fiction. I enjoyed most of this anthology, I thought it was nicely put together and it was a good variety of genres.

3 thoughts on “80. We’ll Always Have Paris- Ray Bradbury

  1. Short stories can be harder to write than novels, it all depends on the author. I’m glad that at least you enjoyed some of his stories. I haven’t ever read one, though Fahrenheit been on my to read list. Maybe I’ll try a couple of his short stories first.

    • thebookheap says:

      Yeah, I think it’s a good way to see how they write different types of characters and stories. I’ve also found short stories are a good way of snapping you out of a reading slump!

Leave a Reply

