88. The Girl with All the Gifts- M. R. Carey

bk1

Title: The Girl with all the Gifts.

Author: M. R. Carey

Rating: ★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Horror

Melanie is a very special girl.

Dr Caldwell calls her “our little genius.”

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her.

She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.
Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells.

She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin and Neil Gaiman. (Goodreads 2014)

I honestly do not know what I picked up this book. I was browsing my usual fantasy section at Waterstones and they had loads of this book on display. I picked it up. I knew instantly from reading the cover it was a “zombie” book. I do not like zombie books. I do not read zombie books. I do not find zombies or the idea of zombies terrifying, I never have. I have never been remotely interested in the walking dead. Ghosts? Sure. Vampires? Well maybe. But zombies? No. I never really found them scary because, I guess, of the traditional portrayal of them, where they are always slow moving and not able to run and catch up to the living humans. I mean I’m not much of a “horror” person to begin with.

So I honestly do not know why I picked up this book. The Girl with All the Gifts starts exactly how the synopsis portrays the scenario in the reader’s mind. Melanie is sitting in her cell. She is strapped down every morning and taken to a classroom. The reader immediately is hinted at numerous times throughout the opening chapters that something a lot bigger is going on than just little kids in a classroom or bunker. I feel like I can’t actually talk about what happens because I was this review to be non-spoiler.

Here is my review:

I do not read zombie books.

I do not enjoy zombie books.

I have no affinity for zombie books.

I gave this book FOUR stars.

I just…gah. I have a lot of questions about the end of this book that I feel were not answered, hence the four and not five star rating. But yes. This book kept me on my toes, it reads at a nice pace and you will be asking questions left, right and centre!

5 thoughts on “88. The Girl with All the Gifts- M. R. Carey

  1. See, I had no idea when I got this that it was a zombie book. I thought it was going to be more of a super-power kind of thing… but I really liked it! Love your review. 🙂

  2. Some books are just hard to review without spoiling something, especially when they’re a good book. I hate zombie books for the opposite reason, they scare me. I don’t know why, they just do. This sounds good though.

    • thebookheap says:

      haha I can understand that. I don’t typically enjoy horror books. Thrillers yes, but horror not so much. Mainly because I want to make sure I can sleep at night ;3 #wimp

Leave a Reply

