Stacking the Shelves 7: A Day Trip to Hay on Wye

stacking-the-shelves

I have just gotten back from my day trip with my dad to Hay on Wye, a small town in the middle of Wales near Hereford, which is known for basically being about 80% bookshops.  I shall put some pictures under the cut!

how2

A Crime and Mystery/Thriller book shop called “Murder and Mayhem”- complete with body chalk outline in the road outside the shop. There is dedication for you- yes there were people lying in it for pictures and no, I was not one of them.

how3

So many of the bookshops had beautiful walls to display certain books in.

hyw4

Hay Castle- with bookshops and vintage shops on the grounds, sadly the vintage shops are closing down.

how5

Book sheds on the grounds at Hay Castle

how6

Of course we had to go to the fudge shop before we came home! Om nom nom!

hyw1

Swiggity Swag, what’s in the bag!! FYI the bag says “I love Hay on Wye” and the pencil reads “the official writing instrument of the independent Kingdom of Hay on Wye” and it has a little jeweled crown on the top!

I’m really excited for “Shirley” as I want to read another of Charlotte Bronte’s works and I’ve heard great things about the Eyre Affair. I have already read and enjoyed Something Wicked this way comes but only on my kindle, I wanted it for my Ray Bradbury Collection!

My dad insisted I get those Snoopy post it notes because the box says “Happiness is a warm puppy” on the side- which is so true. Plus it’s Snoopy.

I hope you are all having a lovely weekend!

8 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves 7: A Day Trip to Hay on Wye

  1. A town that is 80% bookshops?! How did I not know about this? Totally going on my bucket list! I know there’s a street in Japan that’s all used bookshops, Jinbocho, but probably all of the books are in Japanese… I was hoping to read the Eyre affair this month for the dusting off the shelf read a thon.

    • thebookheap says:

      It’s a beautiful little town : D. It was a nice little roadtrip for me to have with my dad before I may be moving away soon- especially since he is a fellow bookworm

  2. Elen @ A World of Reviews says:

    I love Hay so much, although I haven’t been down there in a while. And the fudge is so good. 🙂 Also, that bag is so pretty.

    • thebookheap says:

      Om nom nom nom! There was so much fudge. I also got a nice little tin full of Dolly Mixtures :3

      Ikr, I’ve been wanting to use tote bags more lately, I just get put off by the fact they get soaked when it rains!

Leave a Reply

