90. Hysteria- Megan Miranda

hysteria

Title: Hysteria

Author: Megan Miranda

Rating: ★

On the Shelves: Young Adult Fiction

Mallory killed her boyfriend, Brian. She can’t remember the details of that night but everyone knows it was self-defense, so she isn’t charged. But Mallory still feels Brian’s presence in her life. Is it all in her head? Or is it something more? In desperate need of a fresh start, Mallory is sent to Monroe, a fancy prep school where no one knows her . . . or anything about her past. But the feeling follows her, as do her secrets. Then, one of her new classmates turns up dead. As suspicion falls on Mallory, she must find a way to remember the details of both deadly nights so she can prove her innocence-to herself and others.

In another riveting tale of life and death, Megan Miranda’s masterful storytelling brings readers along for a ride to the edge of sanity and back again (Goodreads 2014)

This book has sat on my shelf for the best part of a year. I finally decided to pick it up. For those who are interested I have previously read Miranda’s “Fracture” (click the link for the review), however, I did not review “Vengeance” as it was a DNF for me. Fracture got a decent three stars from me, but I’m afraid Hysteria fell too short for even that, and only scored a two star rating.

What can I say about “Hysteria” (I ask with a sigh on my breath)….well..yeah. It wasn’t “hysterical”, in either sense of the word. I didn’t feel attached to any of the characters. The hallucinations aspect didn’t quite work for me. All I could think was “Mara Dyer did it better”- and the hallucinations only really happened once or twice throughout the book. There was immediately a love triangle of some sort and insta-love, which automatically made it lose a star as well.

I felt like there was all this build up throughout the book- not very well done but enough to keep me wanting to keep reading just to see if something, anything, happened at all- and then it just fell flat.

I’m surprised I actually finished it and I would not recommend this book, personally.

4 thoughts on “90. Hysteria- Megan Miranda

Leave a Reply

