94. Gone Girl- Gillian Flynn

gg

Title: Gone Girl

Author:  Gillian Flynn

Rating:  ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Crime/Thriller/Mystery

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media–as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents–the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter–but is he really a killer? 
As the cops close in, every couple in town is soon wondering how well they know the one that they love. With his twin sister, Margo, at his side, Nick stands by his innocence. Trouble is, if Nick didn’t do it, where is that beautiful wife? And what was in that silvery gift box hidden in the back of her bedroom closet? (Goodreads 2014)

For the two years of 2012 and 2013, I worked in a bookstore. Which meant that I learnt quickly to expect a “Book of the Summer which nobody will hate”. In 2012, it was the disturbing and almost pandemic love of Fifty Shades of how-to-make-abuse-look-sexy (sorry not sorry. Never will I touch those books ever). So the next year, in 2013, when Gone Girl became the book of the summer, I didn’t exactly jump onto the bandwagon and join the queues to read it. I read the synopsis and thought it looked interested, but I don’t read much “Crime” novels, which is what made me hesitant.

Then last august, Gone Girl was 99p in the kindle summer sale. I figured 99p. Why not?

Result? Best 99p I have ever spent, because oh holy cow why did I not read this sooner?!

The first thing I need to say about this book is that, oh gawd, did I hate the two main characters, or did I hate them? Answer: yes. They were both such horrible people in their own way. I didn’t know it but it was Gillian Flynn sucking me in and making me believe that yes Amy is very anti-feminist and annoying and jeez, I wish Nick wasn’t such an absolute prat- and then halfway through it’s like Flynn pulled the rug out from under my feet and yelled JUST KIDDING!

Plot twist galore meant I had no idea what the hell was going on for a good part of this book and that was so refreshing to me! I’m so tired of guessing plots halfway through and rolling my eyes at immediate love interests! I’ve heard rumours that the author is changing the ending for the movie, and I honestly don’t know how I feel about it because while it is disturbing, the fact it is disturbing suits the characters and story well, and is terrifyingly believable because of it…

I just…there is no safe way to talk about this book other than- read it and trust nothing!

 

10 thoughts on “94. Gone Girl- Gillian Flynn

  1. Yes yes yes to all this! More twists than I thought a book could have.
    I hope she doesn’t change the ending because honestly (as much as it sucks) that’s kind of the only way I could imagine it ending!

  2. Pretty much my feels exactly! The rug was pulled so quickly I was grinning like a Cheshire cat while thinking, “Flynn! You clever one! You got me!!”

  3. haha sorry not sorry. Yeah, I’d never touch it either. I’ve been hearing good things about Gone Girl and this clinches it. It’s going onto The List. (I felt it needed capitals) I didn’t know it was becoming a movie. That’s so cool!

    • thebookheap says:

      haha I avoid those books like the plague!

      You won’t regret it- one of the best written books I’ve read this year, I think!

Leave a Reply

