104. The Girl of Fire and Thorns- Rae Carson

fbid2

Title: The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns #1)

Author: Rae Carson

Rating:  

On the Shelves: Young Adult Fiction> Fantasy

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.
Elisa is the chosen one.

But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can’t see how she ever will.

Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.

And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.

Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.

Most of the chosen do (Goodreads 2014)

I finally got around to picking this book up! FINALLY.

One thing that put me off this book was the fact that in the book synopsis, there is obviously going to be a love triangle of sorts in this series, and everybody knows how I am sick to my teeth of love triangles in young adult literature. I’m probably going to do some sort of discussion post on them soon because I’m really starting to get annoyed by their persistence in this genre.

Anyway, back on topic, I finally picked up this book. This had been sitting on my shelves for a good…four months, and obviously, this is one of those series which is all over book blogs, especially with the recent release of the third book in the series. Rae Carson has a lovely way of writing, this book read so quickly. When that happens, I don’t know if it is because I’m engrossed in the story and I’m just reading quicker than I would if I weren’t really interested, but it’s certainly a nice feeling!

Elise is certainly a breathe of fresh air, as a heroine in a fantasy YA book. She is not perfect, she is not particularly skilled, she is nothing special in terms of looks, or behaviour. She is the youngest daughter of the King, which means she is not heir to any throne- her sister is, and she is more of a back seat follower in terms of personality. She is quiet and nervous and unsure. I did feel this got annoying as all through the book constant references were made, not about her personality but more about her looks and more specifically, her weight. Constant, * Constant * references to how chubby or skinny she was. About halfway through I felt like yelling “I GET IT. MOVE ON”. Throughout the book though, she learns to step up to the plate and starts becoming bolder and more confident. Elise feels realistic and believable. While I didn’t really get too attached to any of the surrounding characters in the book (I felt like somehow there wasn’t really enough character depth to them), I really did become fond of Elise as a heroine. Again, diversity, it’s nice to have a book centred around a American or British protagonist, in terms of both ethnicity and culture.

I’ll be continuing on this series when I can because I definitely want to see where it goes…

7 thoughts on “104. The Girl of Fire and Thorns- Rae Carson

Leave a Reply

