109. Good Omens- Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

goodomens

Title: Good Omens

Author: Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Fantasy/Sci Fi

According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (the world’s only completely accurate book of prophecies, written in 1655, before she exploded), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. Just before dinner.

So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing, Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are flaring. Everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan. Except a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon—both of whom have lived amongst Earth’s mortals since The Beginning and have grown rather fond of the lifestyle—are not actually looking forward to the coming Rapture.

And someone seems to have misplaced the Antichrist . . . (Goodreads 2014)

Fact: My dad is a long time Terry Pratchett fan, and I was raised on stories and metaphors of Ankh-Morpork, Agnes Nutter, and Nanny Ogg before I even knew what the hell my father was referencing. Seeing as I had gotten back into reading and was enjoying Neil Gaiman, my dad recommended me Good Omens, in the hopes that it would lead to me reading Discworld (which it did). He pitched Good Omens to me in a simple sentence: “the M25 becomes a sign of the apocalypse”. If that isn’t enough to humour any English citizen to read this book, then I honestly don’t know what is.

Good Omens” follows the story of the impending apocalypse, which has been predicted since 1655 by Agnes Nutter. It’s sooner than we all think- next Saturday, in fact. What follows is the perspectives of two angels: Crowley – the Angel who “did not so much Fall as Saunter Vaguely Downwards” and Aziraphale, who while working on their respective sides of “Good and Evil”, are trying to agree to disagree with each other. They agree, however, that the Rapture would be an incredibly inconvenient event for both of them…

In case you have not already guessed: Do not take this book seriously. At all. It is the typical English humour where if you do not like sarcasm, you will probably just stare at the page going “I honestly don’t understand why this is meant to be hilarious”. But it is. It is one of the funniest books I have ever read. You are also spoilt for choice as you get the master world building of not one fantasy author but TWO. I also believe that this is where I fell in love with Pratchett’s idea of Death as a character, one which would mean that the DEATH arc of the Discworld series became my favourite, with my first Discworld novel being Hogfather, followed by Mort.

There were times when I felt this book was moving a little too slow for me, but I definitely enjoyed it and fully intend to re-read it this year, actually- especially since Radio 4 have just announced that Good Omens is set to be aired as a radio adaptation this Christmas!! I know I’m excited for it!

I Highly recommend this one to anyone who is a fan of fantasy, sarcasm, and really snarky angels.

 

7 thoughts on “109. Good Omens- Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

  1. This is one of my favorite novels!! Pratchett’s probably my favorite author!!! I keep watching for the Good Omens movie, but I don’t think it’s ever going to happen. I hadn’t heard of it becoming a radio show! Hogfather was my first Discworld too! You have an awesome Dad! 🙂

    (“Multiple exclamation marks,” he went on, shaking his head, “are a sure sign of a diseased mind.”)

    • thebookheap says:

      I haven’t read any discworld this year but I zoomed through about 15 of them last year- Pratchett is so clever and entertaining, I love the series. Need to get back into it!
      I’m pretty excited about the radio show after how popular and well done Neverwhere was last year (same radio station!)

      I have to agree, my dad is pretty cool! ;3

  2. Elen @ A World of Reviews says:

    I really need to get round to reading this before listening to it on the radio. It sounds so good and I’ve loved what I read of both Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. I’m definitely going to be reading this soon. 🙂 Great review!

Leave a Reply

