Top Ten Tuesday: 26- Underrated Authors in Fairytale Re-tellings

ttt

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish as ususal~

Since it has been a few weeks since my last “Friday’s Fairytales” (stay turned- it is back this week!!), I decided to dedicate this post to my top ten favourite fairytale re-tellings. Most of these authors seem to stick within this genre, as well so it isn’t entirely out there from this weeks topic of “most underrated authors”, so- without furtherdelay!

ttvdaybrmk

  1. Robin McKinley

Author of: Beauty (A Re-telling of Beauty and the Beast), Rose Daughter (A Re-telling of Beauty and the Beast), Spindle’s End (A Re-telling of Sleeping Beauty)

Arguably, Robin McKinley is one of the best known authors in this genre, but she also wrote one of my absolute favourites “Beauty”, so she deserves top spot here, in my opinion. I have “Rose Daughter” sitting on my shelves upstairs and I can’t wait to get around to it!

Friday’s Fairytales Spot: Beauty and the Beast

cndr

  1. Marissa Meyer

Author of: The Lunar Chronicles Series- Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, Winter and Fairest.

Not only has she written an amazing re-telling of Cinderella, but she has taken it, flipped it on it’s head, and integrated it with about five other main fairy tales, making Cinderella, Scarlet, Rapunzel and Snow White, along with their respective “Princes” team up against the Wicked Queen to save the empire- HELL TO THE YES.

 

Friday’s Fairytales Spot: Cinderella

eastep

3.Edith Pattou

Author of: East

One of my favourite tales is the Norweigian Tale of East of the Sun, West of the Moon, and Edith Pattou mastered this re-telling flawlessly. I have linked my review of it, and I need to read more of her works.

Friday’s Fairytales Spot: East of the Sun, West of the Moon

jpsr

 

  1. Jackson Pearce

Author of: Fairytale Re-tellings Series: Sisters Red, Sweetly, Fathomless and Cold Spell.

This series seems to get stronger and stronger as it goes on and I’ve been meaning to pick up Fathomless for ages now!

wocd

  1. Cameron Dokey

(Co-) Author: Once Upon a Time Series

This is a bit of a cheat because this series is written by three or four authors. The books are nice quick reads and I have enjoyed the four I have read so far: Wild Orchid- A Re-telling of the Ballad of Mulan, Belle (Cameron Dokey), Violet Eyes (Debbie Viguié) and the Diamond Secret (Suzanne Weyn)

Friday’s Fairytales Spot: The Ballad of Hua Mulan

scei

  1. Eowyn Ivey

Author of: The Snow Child

if you love fairytale re-tellings, you need to pick this book up. I plan to re-read it this coming winter and it’s just so lovely and heartwarming and brilliantly written.

bfbal

  1. Andrew Lang

Author of: The Blue Fairy Book

I figured this would be a good thing to have in here. For those who don’t know, Andrew Lang compiled a literal rainbow of classic fairytales. I myself only own “The Blue Fairy Book” but fully intend to collect them all. This collection not only holds the familiar western tales but also those from around the world!

18630484

  1. Shonna Slayton

    Author of: Cinderella’s Dress

This was one of my netgalley requests, and I really enjoyed it. It wound up not only being a fairytale re-telling but a historical fiction and it was enjoyable, with warm characters and good writing! I’ll be honest, it surpassed my expectations.

jn5

  1. Rosamund Hodge

    Author of: Cruel Beauty, Gilded Ashes, Crimson Bound

Again, not exactly “underrated” as Cruel Beauty was one of the biggest releases in the bookworld this year, however, I thoroughly enjoyed this fresh twist on Beauty and the Beast and will be keeping an eye out for her future works, which include “Gilded Ashes” ( a re-telling of Cinderella) and “Crimson Bound”(Little Red Riding Hood)

baf

  1. Alex Flinn

    Author of: Beastly, Cloaked, A Kiss in Time, Towering, Bewitching etc.

Beastly was one of the first re-tellings I read back in the day, and while it isn’t exactly amazing, it was very enjoyable and I have been meaning to read more of Flinn’s work ever since.

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 26- Underrated Authors in Fairytale Re-tellings

  1. I decided to start being social again (have been very lazy recently) and yeay I’m just in time for the return of Friday’s Fairytales. Your fairytale knowledge is incredible and your blog is always the first place I go to if I am looking for a re-telling!
    I still haven’t read the Lunar Chronicles, they are still sitting on my table in a neat little pile, untouched. It makes me very sad! I have heard such amazing things!
    I agree with you on Beastly, it was alright but not amazing. I think I actually preferred the film, mostly for the fact that I felt like it fit in with the modern world better. Even the witch isn’t a stereotypical witch, she is a goth girl from his high school (who yes, ok she has magical powers) and so it’s all a bit more believable that this story could fit into the real world. In the book however he is chatting to frogs and isn’t their a mermaid in their too?
    I could go on and on about your list because I like every single one of your choices! Very excited for Friday! 🙂

    • thebookheap says:

      Awh thanks missus! Friday’s installment is all typed up and ready to go!

      You should definitely get on the TLC bandwagon 😉

      It has literally been years since I read beastly so my memory is a little fuzzy on the exact story since I only read it once but I definitely enjoyed it. She has written a book from the witch’s perspective too!

    • thebookheap says:

      I get a little bit hesistant too- I only read ones while I think will actually be good. I hate that a lot of them feel the need to turn the tales “erotic” or something : / seriously disturbing and I stay well clear of them!

  2. I adore Fairytale retellings. This is a great list! I will have to pick up East and The Snow Child. If you haven’t had a chance to read these others I think you will enjoy them: Alias Hook (Peter Pan), Mirror, Mirror by Gregory MaGuire (Snow White, he also wrote Wicked about The Wizard of Oz, and The Kingfisher Club (12 Dancing Princesses.

    • thebookheap says:

      Highly recommend both of those books, definitely! I did read Mirror Mirror and finish it but i can’t really say I enjoyed it- couldn’t get into any of his other books either : /

  3. I love Robin McKinley’s Beauty. It is my favorite retelling of the fairy tale. The Snow Child is on my TBR list. Have you read Juliet Marillier’s Wildwood Dancing? It’s a retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses. I think you’d enjoy it.
    My TTT

    • thebookheap says:

      isn’t it beautiful? I can’t wait to read Rose Daughter. I must admit though I couldn’t get into Spindle’s End…

      The Snow Child is absolutely beautiful and lovely, highly recommend it!

      oooh no I haven’t but I will add it to my list- thanks!

  4. Elen @ A World of Reviews says:

    There are so many books on your list that I need to read! I’ve been planning on reading Robin McKinley’s Beauty for a while, and Cruel Beauty also looks really good! The Snow Child is also on my tbr, and I really like that cover. 🙂

    I loved East so much (although I read it as North Child). I’m really tempted to reread it now.

    • thebookheap says:

      haha for all of these, I’m pretty much just like ALL OF THE BOOKS ARE GOOD!

      I read ICE first and gave it 4/5 stars but East completely stole the show!

    • thebookheap says:

      Beauty is fantastic- I can’t wait to see how she has written Rose Daughter and play spot the difference!

      I highly recommend you continue the series by Jackson pearse, with Sweetly/Fathomless/Cold Spell- I’ve read upto Sweetly and it was even better than Sisters Red!

      • I read Sweetly and Fathomless. I thought Sweetly was okay, and just didn’t like Fathomless at all. I think I would have liked it if she’d written a stand-alone fairy tale retelling. For me, folding it into the series didn’t work, and made me decide that I won’t be reading further in the series. 😦

Leave a Reply

