111. Twitter Girl- Nic Tatano

twittergirl

Title: Twitter Girl

Author: Nic Tatano

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Contemporary/Romance

Publication Date: 18th September 2014- TODAY!

Meet America’s Tweet-Heart.

She’s network reporter Cassidy Shea, better known as @TwitterGirl, with more than a million followers thanks to her sarcastic tweets. One hundred forty characters that can take anyone down a notch.
But while brevity may be the soul of wit, it can also get you fired. When a controversial tweet goes viral the snarky redhead finds herself locked out of the career she loves… and watches her boyfriend take a hike.

Alas, no industry values sarcasm more than politics, and Cassidy becomes a marketable commodity for Presidential candidate Will Becker, a squeaky-clean, stone cold lock to be the next occupant of the White House. This candidate is unlike any other; he’s the country’s most eligible bachelor. He’s also looking for a running mate, and we’re not talking about a Vice President. Twitter Girl has caught his eye.

Cassidy finds herself swept up in a whirlwind romance that turns her into the next Jackie Kennedy and becomes the favorite to be the next First Lady. The country can’t get enough of America’s First Couple… will Cassidy and Will Becker bring back Camelot? But an anonymous tip triggers her journalistic curiosity. Is Will Becker all that he seems? The search for the answer teaches Cassidy the meaning of love. (Goodreads 2014)


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I first need to thank the publishers at Harper Collins UK and HarperImpulse, and the author, for allowing me early access to this book via Netgalley, in exchange for a full review.

I spotted Twitter Girl on netgalley, the cover immediately drew my eye and I basically went “social media chick lit? Hell yeah” because I’ve been craving some fun “chick lit” for a while. After spending so much time reading an overflow of dystopians and science fiction, it’s nice to read some romance every so often. I hadn’t actually realised I also have another book by Nic Tatano waiting to be read on my netgalley requests, called “IT girl”, and again the cover art is what drew me in. This dude has some beautiful covers for his books.

Twitter Girl follows a woman named Cassidy who has earned herself something of a reputation online, for being a snarky commentator on the Twitter-sphere while working as a network reporter. Unfortunately, she takes her snark a little too far and puts her foot in her mouth, resulting in her being sacked from her job. But she manages to land on her feet as her reputation is exactly what saves her from scouring for jobs and being ashamed of her internet profile status- and she is immediately scooped up to back a politician in his campaign to become the next President of the USA- and she is drafted to make snarky comments about the other candidates during the elections. Talk about getting a job that is in your own element!

I enjoyed this book. It made me laugh out loud a fair bit, I really grew attached to some of the characters in this book, and I found it to be well paced as well. This book did lose a star however, because towards the final end of the book, the dialogue got repeated (literally like…scene for scene), and it just crossed the border from “Sappy” to “…a little bit ridiculous”. Throughout the story, you follow Cassidy and her best friend, and there isn’t much I can explain without giving away spoilers but yes, there is a scene between the best friend and her love interest, which is then later copied word for word to apply to Cassidy and * her * love interest. And then they have a dual proposal at the same time (literally, same place and table and same method). At this point, I have to admit I did find myself rolling my eyes because it just got taxing. Everything before the 90% mark was fully enjoyable and nice but after that it just got a little bit too ridiculous. While some would say it’s cute and shows the bond between the friends and such, personally I feel like it was a little bit lazy to be so repetitive.

I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a fun “chick lit” (I can’t decide if I hate that term or not but most people do call it that, so I’ll go with it for now), and I do look forward to reading “IT girl” soon!

2 thoughts on “111. Twitter Girl- Nic Tatano

Leave a Reply

