Top Ten Tuesday 28: books to read this Autumn.

ttt

The weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

It’s the first day of my favourite season: Autumn!! Autumn is here! I’m so happy because now I can bring out my cardigans and knits and scarves without looking like a maniac (UK summer means people dress hopefully but it still is pretty cold so we look stupid wearing these things from May-Aug).  This week’s Top Ten is the Top Ten Books I plan to read this Autumn.

This is going to be a mixture of old books and new books because there are a couple of re-reads I’d like to do during this lovely season.

Re-reads:-

13611052afpm

These two I have previous read and liked/loved but I’ve not reviewed them properly- so since they seem suitably halloween-ish, I will aim to re-read these in october!

Netgalley:

soullessbibfp

sts64sts61

I have five Netgalley books to get through in October, due to missing their deadlines, but these two are ones which seem again suitable for the darker nights and chills in the air.

New books:

sts68sts69tboottt10

The first two here also seem suitably creepy for the all hallow months, but that third one? I mean, no shit sherlock. This will probably kill me dead.

I know that is only nine, but if I can get through these 9 in the next 2 months, I will be a happy bunny- and they are all so fitting for the time of year 🙂 What are you hoping to read this Autumn? Are you going straight for the classic horror and scary novels or, like me, are you going for the lighter stuff?

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday 28: books to read this Autumn.

      • Elen @ A World of Reviews says:

        You should. 🙂 I don’t think anybody will be coping well after the book is released.

      • Elen @ A World of Reviews says:

        IF ANYTHING HAPPENS TO THOSE TWO, I’M NOT SURE I’LL BE ABLE TO CARRY ON READING. I’m not sure how I’m going to cope if something happens to Leo either!

      • thebookheap says:

        my other OTP is Hazel and Frank -.-; I’m probably gonna get screwed for that… everyone seems to think those two will die -.-

      • Elen @ A World of Reviews says:

        Hazel and Frank are really cute, they can’t die! I think I’ll probably be really sad whoever does die – they’re all great characters.

      • Elen @ A World of Reviews says:

        I wasn’t keen on them when I first met them (mainly because I love Percabeth), but they’ve grown on me a bit. I like them least out of the seven, but I still do like them.

    • thebookheap says:

      I will be absolutely gutted when it is! I will probably automatically binge on the Kane Chronicles series so I still have riordan’s writing straight after.

  1. It’s pretty chilly here in Michigan too, we’ve already had a couple of freezes. I know how it is with NetGalley, I have three novels I have to read on there this month. (One of which is Soulless) Night Circus has been on my to read list for a while, good to know that it’s good. I await your review. 🙂 Cool Blood of Olympus cover! I didn’t recognize it at first. Oh I know! I can’t wait and I’m afraid at the same time!!

    • thebookheap says:

      Night Circus is absolutely beautiful- I can never think of another word for it. Morgenstern uses imagery in such a powerful way throughout the book! Highly, highly recommend it!

      I feel like the PJ fandom is gonna implode on book release day lol

  2. Great list. I want to read The Night Circus at some point, and I LOVE the movie adaptation of Practical Magic, but only discovered it was a book recently, so I need to read that one! I’m hoping while I’m off over Christmas that I can clear up my outstanding NetGalley reads (I’ve around ten) so I can start the new year fresh, that’s the plan anyways! I have Life After Life (with the weird fox cover? Let me know if you want to buddy read!) and I’ve heard great things, so I’ll get to it eventually! I also just purchased my first ever Rick Riordan novel (Percy Jackson #1), and I’m really looking forward to it and hoping it lives up to the hype!

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/09/23/top-ten-tuesday-my-autumn-tbr-pile/

    • thebookheap says:

      The night circus is just brilliant- can’t recommend it enough!

      Yeah the book practical magic is a bit different from the film but I still enjoyed it. I’ll totally be up for buddy reading Life after Life if you want to! Just pick a date/week and I’ll work with it 🙂 my tbrs are flexible as long as I finish what I am currently reading before it! Must say I’m not a fan fo that fox cover ;3 there is something lovely and winter-y about the version I have.

      Clearing up netgalley sounds like a good idea- I have about 20 books outstanding on mine *le sigh*.

      typical warning with PJ, it is a middle grade series so book 1 and 2 are a little bit…well…idk, easy to read? But I still enjoyed them and it really picks up around book 3 (for me, anyway. Sea of Monsters is my least favourite pj book)

      • Sounds good. I’m going to schedule and plan October this weekend, so I’ll drop you an email for when suits for Life After Life? I’ve heard good things about it, but it’s quite chunky, right?

        I’d heard PJ was more MG at the start, but that the new series are more YA – I’ve a while to go before I get to them. I guess the first couple of HP are quite MG, so I’ll persevere. It’s just such a popular and well loved series that I can’t ignore it any longer for fear of missing out, and I’m discovering that I’m more of a fantasy fan than I thought!

      • thebookheap says:

        Yeah, according to goodreads the version I have is around 479 pages- it’s a groundhog day story, so apparently it does get a little repetitive haha. Sure thing, just gimme like a week’s notice so that I can keep my book forecast clear for it ;3

        Yeah definitely- it is similar to HP in that way. PJ starts when he is like 11-12 and book 5 is when he is 16 so he ages as the series goes along, similar to HP. Honestly, if you like anything to do with mythology, you should probably love it :3 (IGNORE THE FILMS, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD THE FILMS ARE AWFUL.)

Leave a Reply

