Top Ten Tuesday: 29- books which I found hard to read

ttt

a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

I’m choosing to split this into two sections: books which I found hard to read because they broke my heart (but probably still adored), and books which I found hard to read because they were a pain in the ass and I probably didn’t finish them as a result.

To be fair, I probably will struggle with this one. I don’t read a lot of emotionally disturbing books, because I make a conscious effort to avoid them. Don’t get me wrong, I like reading books about somewhat dark subjects because it is important to gain a greater perspective in life and you will see that a lot of the “disturbing” and “difficult” books which make this list for me, are actually some of my favourite books ever.

But most of the emotionally jarring books, especially in contemporary fiction, tend to  focus around a character having a long-term illness which will probably kill them in the end, and how they deal with that. As someone who has personal experience of this topic twice, (and twice is more than enough!) .the topic of long-term illness just hits too close to home for me. So I avoid it. I’m also being lazy this week and not bothering to put pictures in my list ;3

But anyway, let’s see if I can make this list happen.

Five books that I found hard to read because they broke my heart:-

  • Rose Under Fire- Elizabeth Wein
  • The Book Thief- Marcus Zusak
  • To Kill a Mockingbird- Harper Lee
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns- Khaled Hosseini
  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close- Jonathan Safran Foer

Five books I found hard to read because they were a pain in the ass

  • The Great Gatsby- F Scott Fitzgerald
  • Life of Pi-  Yann Martel
  • The History of Love- Nicole Krauss
  • The End of Mr Y- Scarlett Thomas
  • The Man in the High Castle- Phillip K Dick
10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 29- books which I found hard to read

  1. Elen @ A World of Reviews says:

    I can imagine that Rose Under Fire is heart-breaking – I’m still terrified of starting it! Life of Pi has never really appealed to me, and seeing as you’re not a fan, I don’t think I’ll be picking that up anytime soon.

    • thebookheap says:

      haha yeah I wanted to read it because the trailer for the film looked interesting but I spent the first 1/3 of the book not knowing what was happening!

    • thebookheap says:

      so was I due to the hype. Probably one of the reasons I’ve not even bothered looking into Catcher in the Rye either

  2. Yeah, I don’t blame you for avoiding books that would make you cry, I do the exact same thing. Which is why I haven’t read the Book Thief yet even though everyone says it’s good.

    • thebookheap says:

      that is one where despite it making me sob, it’s one of my favourite books. I love the narration in it!

  3. I agree with The Man in the High Castle especially! I bought it for my boyfriend to read, as I had seen a lot of hype about it and thought it was right up his street. However we both found it pretty tough going – interesting, but hard work!

    • thebookheap says:

      I thought it sounded really good and I found it so difficult to read, think I made it about 40 pages in and had no idea what was going on @.@

Leave a Reply

