119. Timequake- Kurt Vonnegut

timequake

Title: Timequake

Author: Kurt Vonnegut

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction/Non-fiction/Memoir…ish?!

According to science-fiction writer Kilgore Trout, a global timequake will occur in New York City on 13th February 2001. It is the moment when the universe suffers a crisis of conscience. Should it expand or make a great big bang? It decides to wind the clock back a decade to 1991, making everyone in the world endure ten years of deja-vu and a total loss of free will – not to mention the torture of reliving every nanosecond of one of the tawdiest and most hollow decades. With his trademark wicked wit, Vonnegut addresses memory, suicide, the Great Depression, the loss of American eloquence, and the obsolescent thrill of reading books (Goodreads 2014)

Timequake is a bit of a strange one, falling in between the lines of fiction and non-fiction.

You are introduced to the idea of the author Kilgore Trout, a friend of Vonnegut, and his thoughts of theories surrounding a strange occurrence on 13th February 2001, in which the world jumped back a decade and had to relive the last ten years, exactly as they just have. But this book also feels strangely non-fiction. Maybe it’s because I read this book during my train journeys to and from work, but it kind of felt like I was having a conversation with Vonnegut, although a rather one sided one, and he was just telling me stories.

The book itself is made up of short chapters. By “short” I mean really short. Each chapter is only two or three pages long, which in my opinion, made this book perfect for public transportation journeys between work shifts! The book spans between the incidents through the timequake which affected Kilgore Trout, and various people within New York City but also Vonnegut’s opinions on topics like the depression and world war 2 and despite it feeling a little bit all over the place, I enjoyed this book so much more than Slaughterhouse five. I can see this being a book I re-read quite a few times in the future because Vonnegut’s wit, humour and personality just come across so well throughout this book.

 

This is a very short review because I simply can’t even think what genre to place it into, but the bottom line? very enjoyable, full of wit and satire of modern society- highly recommend!

You were sick, but now you are well again, and there is work to do.

7 thoughts on “119. Timequake- Kurt Vonnegut

  1. This sounds good, I love witty books. Would you want to relive the last ten years? If it was the nineties, I’d have to think about it first, but yeah I think I would if only to see lost family members. Though it would be annoying not being able to change anything.

    • thebookheap says:

      haha oh good! I was worried my review would just sound like “er yeah so I read it and um…it was good?” because I can’t seem to organise my thoughts on it enough for coherent sentences!

Leave a Reply

