120. Black Ice- Becca Fitzpatrick

bibfp

Title: Black Ice

Author: Becca Fitzpatrick

Rating: ★★

On the Shelves: Young Adult Fiction> Suspence/Thriller/Romance

Britt Pfeiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but she isn’t prepared when her ex-boyfriend, who still haunts her every thought, wants to join her. Before Britt can explore her feelings for Calvin, an unexpected blizzard forces her to seek shelter in a remote cabin, accepting the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants—but these men are fugitives, and they take her hostage.

In exchange for her life, Britt agrees to guide the men off the mountain. As they set off, Britt knows she must stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her. The task is made even more complicated when Britt finds chilling evidence of a series of murders that have taken place there… and in uncovering this, she may become the killer’s next target.

But nothing is as it seems in the mountains, and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of her kidnappers. His kindness is confusing Britt. Is he an enemy? Or an ally? (Goodreads 2014)

I first need to thank the author and the publishers at Simon and Schuster UK Children’s Publishers for allowing me access to this book, which was published on 7th October 2014 in the UK.

I had heard about Becca Fitzpatrick before, and her Hush Hush series, but I hadn’t gone near it because angels and romance don’t seem like my thing. But since reading the synopsis for this book on Goodreads back in January, Black Ice became one of my most anticipated reads of 2014.

Shame it then proceeded to become a disappointment.

The story follows Britt, a teenage girl who decides to take a hiking trip with her bitch of a BFF Korbie to a remote cabin in the woods. If you are hoping that is the only cliché in this book, you would be mistaken. Anyay, Britt and her friend get stuck in a snowstorm on the road, where they wind up in a strange cabin with two “hot guys” (cliché 2), only to then discover they are going to be held hostage because Britt is stupid enough to brag that she knows the area (which she doesn’t), in an attempt to show off and impress them…so they decide to keep her with them to guide them off the mountain, away from the police.

Well done Brit.

I found this book very frustrating, and wound up putting it down for a few days because another book held my interest more than this. This book definitely had the potential to be gripping and intense, hell it was for a little bit- and the fact I didn’t dislike it enough to abandon it shows that- but this book also have unnecessary love interest dilemnas left, right and centre- which took away any seriousness or sense of urgency for me. Instead of constantly worrying for her safety and sanity, Britt spends a good portion of her time with Mason wondering if her attraction to him is Stockholm Syndrome or legit- Note: NOBODY CARES. Just because you find him attractive, does not mean he is not a psychotic killer, now get your head on straight and get away from him! Your life is your priority, not your hormones.

The book does have one or two plot twists, nothing unpredictable though, and at the end of the book, I was just left with a feeling of “hmph…well, that’s that”. And when I know how I should be reacting at the end of a book (see my reactions to another thriller: Gone Girl), I am just left feeling underwhelmed by Black Ice.

5 thoughts on “120. Black Ice- Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. Brandie says:

    As I feared. Glad I didn’t add it to my list because I was already on the fence. Sorry it didn’t work out for you!

    • thebookheap says:

      I mean, if you are a fan of romantic storylines, then you may enjoy it more than me. Personally, I like romance but they have to be a side line to the actual plot of the novel, they can’t be the main focus- and this book, to me, didn’t feel like it should have any romance in it really, never mind have the romance override the “suspence” aspect of the book

  2. I tried to read Hush Hush, but it wouldn’t hold my attention. Yeah this one sounds like it could’ve been good. It’s hard for it to be tense and suspenseful when the main character is crushing on the bad guys. At least you finished it! I don’t think it’s for me either. Nice review. 🙂

Leave a Reply

