122. The Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus #5)- Rick Riordan

tboottt10

Title: The Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus #5)

Author: Rick Riordan

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Young Adult Fiction> Fantasy

Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen—all of them, and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood—the blood of Olympus—in order to wake. The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps. The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea’s army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over (Goodreads 2014)

So..my initial base reaction to this is a mixture of two things:

Number 1: Noooo- the series can’t end, I love it so freakin’ much!

Number 2: YES. GOOD. ALL OF THE FEELS.

I will try my best to keep my review spoiler free- as usual!

I’ll try to construct a more readable and “professional” review, but those are my initial reactions, so you know I loved the book anyway.

Sadly, this is the final book in the Percy Jackson series. As far as we know, unless Riordan writes another crossover book between his Kane Chronicles or maybe his new Norse mythology series (oooh~), we probably won’t be hearing from any of these characters again. Which makes me really, really sad, because I hadn’t realised it at the time, but I got so attached to the “new” characters during the Heroes of Olympus series- especially Frank Zhang and Leo Valdez..

So, this final book follows the crew as they journey and adventure, sarcastic quips and pop culture references and all, across the globe, attempting to stop Gaea from rising from Tartarus and you know, wiping out civilization- no big deal, just another day in a demi-god’s life.

I can’t really say much about this book, without giving away spoilers because it is a final book in a series. But all you need to know is Riordan has managed to create magic once again. The writing is fantastic, humourous and witty and sweet all at the same time. The characters are memorable, unique and well-written. The pacing is a nice steady speed of “oh my god what next? what next?!”

I will say there were a few times where I got a little tired of there being a pop culture reference on almost every page, but to be honest, that isn’t even really a negative. That being said, this was a very, very strong end to the series and I’m certainly happy with how it was all rounded off- except for the fact that you know, it is finished. Insert sad face here.

I plan on marathoning the Kane Chronicles series very soon (all three books have been sitting on my shelf for a year now, oy vey) and then reading the short story “The Staff of Seraphis”, which is featured at the end of my copy of Blood of Olympus, once I’ve finished those. That should tide me over until the new series with the Norse Mythology begins!

Have any of you read this stunning finale of a book? What were your thoughts and feelings on it??

3 thoughts on “122. The Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus #5)- Rick Riordan

  1. I thought Percy Jackson was over once and he came back, so I’ve not given up hope yet! I love Leo and Hazel out of the new characters, but it was nice to finally get into Annabeth’s head and now Nico’s. I didn’t notice a lot of pop culture references. Maybe they went over my head. (wouldn’t be the first time)

    I plan to read the Kane Chronicles soon too. I own books 1 and 3, but I’ve been saving them…

    • thebookheap says:

      I like that logic. I support that logic. I will use that logic.

      I enjoy annabeth’s POV but I really enjoyed Leo, Frank and Hazel- I would have liked more chapters in their POV in the final book but it was nice, as you say, to finally get into Nico and even Reyna’s head- Reyna’s chapters made me appreciate her as a character whereas up until Blood of Olympus, she was just kinda…there.

Leave a Reply

