Top Ten Tuesday 34: Top Ten Sequels I need to read…

ttt

As ussual, hosted by Broke and the Bookish, this week’s asks you to list the top ten sequels you are anticipating reading in a series you have already started

1. The Evolution of Mara Dyer and The Retribution of Mara Dyer

(Read book 1 last year, need to marathon this series)

2. The Shadow in the North- Phillip Pullman

3. Into the Still Blue- Veronica Rossi

(Read the first two last year, can’t even remember what happened but know I really enjoyed them)

4. Lair of Dreams- Libba Bray

(even though I really hoped Diviners would be a stand alone)

5. The Weed that Strings the Hangman’s Bag (Flavia de Luce #2)- Alan Bradley

(Loved books 1 and 4, need to read them all!)

6.The Crown of Embers (The Girl of Fire and Thorns #2)- Rae Carson

7. Crimson Bound- Rosamund Hodge

(Okay, not so much a sequel but a companion novel, Still!)

8.Throne of Glass #4 – Sarah J Maas

9. Fairest and Winter (Lunar Chronicles #3.5/4)- Marissa Meyer

10.  Fathomless and Cold Spell (Fairytale Re-tellings #3/#4) – Jackson Pearce

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday 34: Top Ten Sequels I need to read…

  1. The Crown of Embers was my favorite in the Fire and Thorns series. I almost listed Crimson Bound (the cover is beautiful by the way) too. I need to read the Mara Dyer series, I don’t what has prevented me from doing so.

    • thebookheap says:

      the cover for crimson bound is amazing. I can’t decide if I like the cover better than Cruel Beauty’s or not! I’m so excited for that sequel though. I really, really enjoyed the first book so I need to get back into it and read the whole thing

  2. Now that I see your list, I realize that I never did finish the Sally Lockhart books by Philip Pullman. I think I’d have to start over at this point, but I do want to read the rest eventually! I finally got a copy of the 1st Flavia de Luce book, and I’m looking forward to reading it. I really didn’t like Fathomless… but I’d love to hear another viewpoint on it. 🙂

    • thebookheap says:

      Same here cos I read book 1 back in 2011, but it’s okay because they are quite short books so it wouldn’t take a lot of time to re-read the first one!

      oooh Flavia de Luce. I read #4 first and loved it, then I went back and read #1 and it was also really good! I hope you enjoy it, it seems like a strong series.

      I enjoyed Sweetly more than Sisters Red, so I’m hoping I like the third book as well

      • I think part of my problem with Fathomless was that I didn’t realize it was part of an ongoing story — I thought it was just a stand-alone fairy tale themed book (although I probably wouldn’t have read it at all if I’d known it was part of the series). I really liked Sisters Red, and though Sweetly was just okay…

      • thebookheap says:

        yeah! I read sweetly around a year after sisters red and I hadn’t reailsed they were connected until the very end when they brought up the topic of the Fenris again- I was like oooh okay, so there is like an underlying arc here. Very odd!

Leave a Reply

