130. The Labyrinth House- Mark Rollins

tlh

Title: The Labyrinth House

Author: Mark Rollins

Rating: ★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Fantasy/Mystery

What would you do if you entered a house that you couldn’t leave?

Bradley Jensen, a young architect on his honeymoon, finds himself facing this very question when he finds a door embedded in a tree on a nature hike with his new wife. On the other side of the door is a mansion, and in the mansion are other people: a man from the 70’s, a former slave, and a young woman from the time of the Salem Witch Trials. They, like Bradley, can’t escape. They can’t open the door that leads to the exit; they can’t break down the walls.

There’s one other person in the mansion, a man none of the others like to talk about. He’s like them, plucked out of the world and placed here in a mansion beyond time. Except he’s dangerous. Deadly. In order to figure out the mystery of his current situation and—hopefully—make it back to his wife, Bradley is going to have to confront this man, as well as something far more dangerous:

The Labyrinth House itself (Goodreads 2014)

Back in October, I was contacted by a representative of Zharmae Publishing Press, named Lynn, who asked if I would like to participate in the upcoming blog tour celebrating the release of Labyrinth House, which was released on 11th October this year. The blog tour is occuring between 23rd-30th November (this week), and I was over the moon to be asked to particpate because this would be the first time I have ever been asked. However, sadly, I replied saying I couldn’t agree to host any guest post or interviews simply because I am two busy in real life and I didn’t want to make promises I couldn’t keep. Thankfully, Lynn was very understanding and happy enough to let me read and review Labyrinth House on my blog as part of the Blog Tour- so this is a special “thank you” to Lynn, and of course the author Rollins, because I had a lot of fun and curiosity with this book.

Labyrinth House begins when Bradley Jensen stumbles across a door in a tree while on honeymoon with his new wife, Jessica- and he can’t get out again. Instead he finds himself trapped with a mixture of bizarre characters in the “labyrinth”. The rooms appear endless, the characters range from passive and timid to aggressive and violent, and there is mystery in every room. I enjoyed this book. I couldn’t predict how it was going to end one way or another, which seems like a rare occurrence these days. I did have an inkling about midway, which turned out to be right but I still couldn’t entirely guess what was going on and how it would end.

I will say that yes, I’ve only given it three stars, because I do feel like it could have been better. I mean it wasn’t bad but you know, little things. I feel there were times when it felt a little slow moving. I felt that I would have liked an occasional chapter in another character’s perspective to really get to know them because I didn’t really grow any attachments to the characters themselves. All that being said, I still had to finish the book. I still had to know for sure exactly what was going on and how it was going to end and if Bradley and the others would ever get out of the Labyrinth.

I enjoyed this book, and I would definitely recommend it to those who enjoy mysteries, and puzzles and curious stories. And if you happen to see any doorways in trees- I’d advise against shutting the door behind you.

3 thoughts on “130. The Labyrinth House- Mark Rollins

  1. It’s a shame it was a bit slow but I love the sound of this! The idea of finding a house through a door in a tree and not being able to get out…ooooooh need!

Leave a Reply

