132. My True Love Gave to Me- edited by Stephanie Perkins

mtlgtm

Title: My True Love Gave to Me

Authors: Stephanie Perkins (editor), Holly Black, Ally Carter, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Matt de la Pena, Rainbow Rowell, Laini Taylor

Rating: ★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Anthologies, Young Adult, Romance

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me …This beautiful collection features twelve gorgeously romantic stories set during the festive period, by some of the most talented and exciting YA authors writing today. The stories are filled with the magic of first love and the magic of the holidays (Goodreads 2014)

I, like the rest of the YA reading world, just felt it necessary to pick this book up. It is a Christmas anthology by the biggest YA authors of the last two years, and while I wasn’t necessarily overwhelmed by amasingness, it was certainly enjoyable. I was very weary of this at the same time, because it was immediately one of those hyped up books- and we all know how well I react to over-hyped things….it tends to go negatively. But I’m glad I actually enjoyed this one- what a relief!

As they are short stories I won’t talk about them in much detail, but my favourites were definitely Midnights by Rainbow Rowell, Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han, and It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins- which really surprised me, because I really disliked her “Anna and the French Kiss”- so maybe I’ll give her another shot in the future. My least liked stories were Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Pena and The Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter- The Holly Black story didn’t even grasp my attention despite being one of the longest stories in the book, and I wasn’t too impressed with the Laini Taylor story either- probably against the very popular opinion with those, but hey ho.

The anthology itself is well put together, with a wide variety exploring characters from a variety of different backgrounds and struggles- which is fantastic. I’d love to see more short story anthologies by YA authors. If you enjoy Christmas stories, give this a shot.

9 thoughts on “132. My True Love Gave to Me- edited by Stephanie Perkins

  1. I just picked this book to read next. I’m glad you liked some of the stories. With an anthology you can never bank on loving every single story. I’m sad to hear about Laini but I maybe I’ll feel differently. Yay for Christmas stories.

    Ps. Still planning on coming to England next year and I still plan on calling on you 😉

    • thebookheap says:

      It’d always hit and miss with anthologies- to be fair, most people adored Laini’s story, I’m the oddball ;3

      haha no worries- DO IT! I’ll be living on my own next year, I’m moving to Birmingham, so I may have my own place : D

      • 🙂 you’re never an oddball!!!
        Yay!! That’s exciting news. Good on you. Any word on the application front? The last I recall it was still in the process!

      • YAAASSSSSSSSS!!!!! Ahhhhh I’m happy dancing. Oh my gosh I feel like you’ve been waiting on this for most of the year. Wow!! Good for you my friend 😀

      • thebookheap says:

        haha I have! I originally applied for it in March, and after 7 months of being tested, poked, prodded, interviewed and waiting with baited breath, I got in :3

        21,000 people applied and they picked 84. Holy moly : D

      • thebookheap says:

        ;3 I’m going to be a full time first responder. everything I’ve worked for since I was 14!

Leave a Reply

