138. The Eyre Affair- Jasper Fforde

teajf

Title: The Eyre Affair (#1)

Author: Jasper Fford

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Mystery/Suspense

There is another 1985, where London’s criminal gangs have moved into the lucrative literary market, and Thursday Next is on the trail of the new crime wave’s Mr Big.

Acheron Hades has been kidnapping characters from works of fiction and holding them to ransom. Jane Eyre is gone. Missing.

Thursday sets out to find a way into the book to repair the damage. But solving crimes against literature isn’t easy when you also have to find time to halt the Crimean War, persuade the man you love to marry you, and figure out who really wrote Shakespeare’s plays.

Perhaps today just isn’t going to be Thursday’s day. Join her on a truly breathtaking adventure, and find out for yourself. Fiction will never be the same again… (Goodreads 2014)

So you love mysteries, sleuthing and action, and of course classic romantic, feminist literature? Hell yeah this book is for you!

I had heard a lot about this series and it intrigued me, so when I stumbled across a copy during my trip to Hay on Wye earlier this year, for £3, I had to pick it up! I’m so glad I did.

The Eyre Affair is the first in a series by Jasper Fforde, which follows Thursday Next, a simply woman, working in “Special Operations” as a literatec agent, in a world where books don’t entirely stay fiction and time is not a static thing, but constantly changing. Jane Eyre ends different to the way we all know and love it, and it has never sat entirely right with the Bronte fans in her world, something seems wrong- and we soon find out why. The problem becomes apparent when Jane Eyre vanishes from her own story, and nobody seems to know where she is! Thursday has to battle with her past demons as a war veteran, the struggles with having a father who is on the run from the law, a returned love interest from the past, all while trying to track down Eyre, and whoever has taken her.

Fforde has a brilliant writing style, I was immediately sucked into this book. For a story where the actual plot device doesn’t really kick in until about page 300 (out of 372!), I couldn’t stop myself reading this. I nearly missed my train stops a dozen times while reading this book. Thursday Next is a fantastic character to follow, the world itself is fascinating. The setting is reminiscent of the forties noire films, and it completely sucks you in.

I just can’t really recommend this series enough and definitely intend to continue on with it!

5 thoughts on “138. The Eyre Affair- Jasper Fforde

  1. Maybe I’ll make time for book #2 this year! The Eyre Affair is such fun. It seems like a low-commitment kind of series — I think I could pick it back up at any time and not worry too much about it. I so glad you enjoyed this one!

Leave a Reply

