153. IT Girl- Nic Tatano

ntig

Title: IT Girl

Author: Nic Tatano

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Contemporary/Romance

Veronica Summer is stuck in the dream job from hell.

The spunky New York reporter is offered the network’s morning anchor position, but she doesn’t want it because she’s a night person. Then the network plays a trump card, promising her the evening anchor chair in three years. So the fiery redhead takes the plunge, with the ultimate gig waiting down the road.

Problem is, that road is filled with two am wake-up calls and the only social life she has is one with bats and raccoons. She quickly realizes she’ll never survive the grind and decides the only way out is to get fired by being her snarky self on live television and the ratings skyrocket.

Veronica becomes the nation’s It Girl, so the network makes her a celebrity contestant on its most popular nighttime dance competition show, Dance Off. While her journalistic credibility is shot to hell by the show’s skimpy costumes, she’s thrown into close contact with two incredibly attractive men; her dance partner and the show’s sarcastic British judge and she soon discovers that love is the ultimate gig.

(Goodreads 2015)

Before I get started, I need to thank the publishers at HarperCollins Impulse for allowing me access to this book, apologies for the delay!

This is the second book of Nic Tatano’s I’ve read and enjoyed- the first one I will link my review of here: Twitter Girl. It is written in a very familiar style to the first one, so I would like to see a little bit more change from the author, but generally speaking, I enjoyed this a lot more than Twitter Girl.

IT girl follows the story of Veronica Summer, who is currently vying hard for a promotion to become the face of her TV network, where she currently works as a presenter for the news. She gets roped into a different kind of promotion instead, to become a co-anchor on a morning show, which means getting up at stupid o’clock at night to film for the 6am broadcast. I felt every empathy with Veronica here, having previously worked early morning shifts in another life time (I worked in an airport for two years, hint: never work in an airport if you can help it!), and the early morning shifts are the worst types of shifts you will ever work, as #NAME soon finds out. Her body clock is completely messed up, her social life is non-resistant and half the time she doesn’t even know what day it is (ahhh I don’t miss it. Seriously, working night shift is so much easier!!). In an attempt to get herself fired from the position, she winds up being loved by the nation and after butting heads with a very attractive judge from the weekly competition show Dance Off (hello Strictly…), she winds up once again being manipulated into being a competitor on the show for the network’s ratings.

I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this as much as I did, as I’m not really a fan of competition shows myself. I enjoyed the characters and I had a good few moments where I wound up laughing out loud at this book because of what #NAME was up to. The pacing of the book was enjoyable, not too rushed and the characters had just enough to them to be likable.

I recommend this to readers who want something light and funny with some quirky characters, and of course, those who love strictly come dancing…

Leave a Reply

