154. The Great Christmas Knit Off- Alexandra Brown

tgcko

Title: The Great Christmas Knit Off

Author: Alexandra Brown

Rating: ★★★★

On the shelves: Fiction> Contemporary/Romance

The perfect seasonal tale of how laughter, friends and wacky Christmas jumpers can mend a broken heart. For fans of Trisha Ashley and Jenny Colgan.

Heartbroken after being jilted at the altar, Sybil has been saved from despair by her knitting obsession and now her home is filled to bursting with tea cosies, bobble hats, and jumpers. But, after discovering that she may have perpetrated the cock-up of the century at work, Sybil decides to make a hasty exit and, just weeks before Christmas, runs away to the picturesque village of Tindledale.

There, Sybil discovers Hettie’s House of Haberdashery, an emporium dedicated to the world of knitting and needle craft. But Hettie, the outspoken octogenarian owner, is struggling and now the shop is due for closure. And when Hettie decides that Sybil’s wonderfully wacky Christmas jumpers are just the thing to add a bit of excitement to her window display, something miraculous starts to happen… (Goodreads 2015)

***HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE- I hope you all have a wonderful 2016!***

I’m trying to catch up with all my overdue reviews, and I apologise in advance for this being nearly a year late- but I figured since I missed the deadline, what better way to read this than to wait for the run up to christmas once again? Thank you to the publishers at HarperCollins UK for allowing me early access to this book- even though by the time I’ve gotten around to it, it’s on the shelves to purchase!

I’m so glad I did. I really, REALLY enjoyed this book. It was like a cup of tea in literature form. Warm, cozy and comforting. The story follows stressed out Sybil, who- after a huge blunder at her job along with stress from a recent relationship incident decides to take off for a weekend and visit her friend who has set up shop in a little pub in a remote english village named Tindledale. The village is like something out of a Christmas card (for those who are familiar with it, I kept imagining Dibley, with Hettie looking like Mrs Cropley!). I was not expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did, and very annoyingly, it made me want to pick up a pair of knitting needles. I say “annoyingly” because I’ve recently moved into my first flat by myself and left all my knitting craft supplies at my parents- ooooh woe is me!!

The book itself was set at a nice pace and I liked that it didn’t entirely focus on the romance (although hello Doctor Benedict Darcy…), it actually focussed more on #NAME’s dreams of owning her own habidashery business and helping out the other villagers in a time of need. The characters are well written and believable, from Hettie, the elderly habidashery owner with secrets from her past luxurious life, to Ruby, the vintage-obsessed shop owner who dresses like Marilyn Monroe on a daily basis. It was just a book full of warm christmas fuzzies, and I will definitely be picking up the sequel to the series. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants an enjoyable christmas read this year!

Leave a Reply

