158. The Final Empire- Brandon Sanderson

tfe1

Title: The Final Empire (mistborn #1)

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Fantasy

158. The Final Empire- Brandon Sanderson

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with colour once more?
In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage— Allomancy, a magic of the metals. (Goodreads 2016)


After hearing nothing but good things about Sanderson via both book blogging on wordpress and also booktubers on youtube, I decided to finally pick up the first of his Mistborn trilogy. It then proceeded to sit on my shelf for a few months before I got around to it. This review is basically nearly two years in the making- it has been nearly a year since I finished reading it, according to goodreads. I have a massive backlog of reviews to get through…This review won’t be too in depth because it has been a year since I read it, however I do basically just want to say if you like fantasy: give this book a try.

Anyway, yes. The Final Empire. This is the first in the Mistborn trilogy which sets up the in depth world of an empire where allomanncy- magic using metals for energy, is a sort of underground taboo, but it also appears to be rife within certain political circles.

The story follows a character called Vin who winds up being sucked into these political circles and plots, and it winds up being a very engrossing read. Sanderson does an amazing job at world building, the characters were all extremely likeable- including hipster!elend and despite constantly having to put the book down due to real life being chaotic, every time I picked it back up again, I could remember exactly what had happened and I would get sucked back into the story again. Despite the time having passed- to me, that is the sign of a good book, especiially when it is a fantasy book which is twice the length of a “usual” book.

I recommend this to any lovers of fantasy, and I will definitely be aiming to continue the series. I also have Sanderson’s “Steelheart” sitting on my TBR shelf waiting for it so I’m excited to see what I think of that one too.

Leave a Reply

