163. A Court of Thorns and Roses- Sarah J Maas

actr

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses (#1)

Author: Sarah J Maas

Rating: ★★★★★

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Fantasy

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever. (Goodreads 2017)

After being on a little bit of a hiatus from Maas’ writing aka the Throne of Glass Series, I picked up the first of her other fantasy series, A Court of Thorns and Roses, as one of my first audiobooks through audible. It did not disappoint. Now sometimes I struggle with audiobooks if I disjoint the reading segments through short journeys or if there are days in between where I don’t listen, and I spent most of this book walking to and from work every day last summer, and despite only listening in short bursts, I became immersed in a world. I really admire Maas writing ability to make the reader be surrounded in an incredibly detailed world of fantasy. While I have struggled lately with the throne of glass series due to feeling like the plot has changed about four times throughout the series- this book- this book was a nice solid planting of what I can tell will be an amazing series. I need to also just make a note to say that, as an audiobook, the narrator, Jennifer Ikeda, did a fantastic job with this one, and I definitley recommend giving that format of the story a try if you are curious about it!

This is a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast, which most people are familiar with. However, Maas has put her own original twist on this epic tale, making it instantly memorable. Feyre is one of the better protagonists in current YA lit, she is flawed, and she is memorable. I am in love with the idea of the different courts throughout the land of Prythian and while I did not really like Tamlin as a character, I absolutely adored the writing of the other characters, such as Lucian and even just the world building around the courts. Maas did an excellent job and her talent for creating a fully immersive world comes across in every one of her novels. The demons in this book actually gave me goosebumps and Amarantha is terrifying. I have heard absolutely amazing things about A COURT OF MIST AND FURY and can’t wait to get stuck into it!

Recommended for anyone who is a fan of fantasy books. I think this may be my favourite of Maas’ two series so far!

What are some of the best Audiobooks you have listened to lately? Did you like ACOTAR? Let me know!

5 thoughts on “163. A Court of Thorns and Roses- Sarah J Maas

Leave a Reply

