156. Outlander (#1)- Diana Gabaldon

oldg

Title: Outlander (#1)

Author: Diana Gabaldon

Rating: ★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> historical/romance

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives. (Goodreads 2016)

Continue reading

155. Safe Haven- Nicholas Sparks

shns

Title: Safe Haven

Author: Nicholas Sparks

Rating:★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Contemporary/Romance

When a mysterious young woman named Katie appears in the small North Carolina town of Southport, her sudden arrival raises questions about her past. Beautiful yet self-effacing, Katie seems determined to avoid forming personal ties until a series of events draws her into two reluctant relationships: one with Alex, a widowed store owner with a kind heart and two young children; and another with her plainspoken single neighbor, Jo. Despite her reservations, Katie slowly begins to let down her guard, putting down roots in the close-knit community and becoming increasingly attached to Alex and his family.

But even as Katie begins to fall in love, she struggles with the dark secret that still haunts and terrifies her . . . a past that set her on a fearful, shattering journey across the country, to the sheltered oasis of Southport. With Jo’s empathic and stubborn support, Katie eventually realizes that she must choose between a life of transient safety and one of riskier rewards . . . and that in the darkest hour, love is the only true safe haven. (Goodreads 2016)

Continue reading

2016: Happy New Year!

4be6d66804379deca422510447d45081

Happy New Year Everyone!

It’s time for my resolutions post for the year, these won’t just be bookish either.

2015 was an amazing year for me. I moved to a new city, started my dream job, and moved house twice, once into a house share with strangers, and now into my own flat. It has been a massive year for me personally, and developmentally. I’ve started to find out how much I can handle, and how much I rely on my friends and family despite living in a different city. not so much for books and reading.

In 2015, I read a total of thirty three books- a total I am not entirely unhappy with. It’s a massive drop from 2014’s 100+, but it is necessary. I had to cut back forcing myself to read to make sure I still enjoy it when I do get to.

2016 New Year Resolutions:

Continue reading

154. The Great Christmas Knit Off- Alexandra Brown

tgcko

Title: The Great Christmas Knit Off

Author: Alexandra Brown

Rating: ★★★★

On the shelves: Fiction> Contemporary/Romance

The perfect seasonal tale of how laughter, friends and wacky Christmas jumpers can mend a broken heart. For fans of Trisha Ashley and Jenny Colgan.

Heartbroken after being jilted at the altar, Sybil has been saved from despair by her knitting obsession and now her home is filled to bursting with tea cosies, bobble hats, and jumpers. But, after discovering that she may have perpetrated the cock-up of the century at work, Sybil decides to make a hasty exit and, just weeks before Christmas, runs away to the picturesque village of Tindledale.

There, Sybil discovers Hettie’s House of Haberdashery, an emporium dedicated to the world of knitting and needle craft. But Hettie, the outspoken octogenarian owner, is struggling and now the shop is due for closure. And when Hettie decides that Sybil’s wonderfully wacky Christmas jumpers are just the thing to add a bit of excitement to her window display, something miraculous starts to happen… (Goodreads 2015)

***HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE- I hope you all have a wonderful 2016!***

Continue reading

153. IT Girl- Nic Tatano

ntig

Title: IT Girl

Author: Nic Tatano

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Contemporary/Romance

Veronica Summer is stuck in the dream job from hell.

The spunky New York reporter is offered the network’s morning anchor position, but she doesn’t want it because she’s a night person. Then the network plays a trump card, promising her the evening anchor chair in three years. So the fiery redhead takes the plunge, with the ultimate gig waiting down the road.

Problem is, that road is filled with two am wake-up calls and the only social life she has is one with bats and raccoons. She quickly realizes she’ll never survive the grind and decides the only way out is to get fired by being her snarky self on live television and the ratings skyrocket.

Veronica becomes the nation’s It Girl, so the network makes her a celebrity contestant on its most popular nighttime dance competition show, Dance Off. While her journalistic credibility is shot to hell by the show’s skimpy costumes, she’s thrown into close contact with two incredibly attractive men; her dance partner and the show’s sarcastic British judge and she soon discovers that love is the ultimate gig.

(Goodreads 2015)

Continue reading

General: Another apology- kind of.

I know I’ve been absent this year a lot and I just want to apologise- life has been chaotic. Which to be honest, is great for me, but not so great for this blog- or my reading life.

I miss reading. Don’t get me wrong. I miss reading 5 books a week and devouring them and posting multiple reviews in a month and getting involved with you guys on your posts and challenges.I’ve been reading The Final Empire (1)- Brandon Sanderson since July!! … But when I weigh up all I do in my day job, it just doesn’t compare and I can’t feel too bad about it if I’m honest. I guess you could say it’s a sacrifice I’m definitely willing to make.  It’s just one of those jobs you can’t find anywhere else! I’m stressed beyond belief- but loving every second of it.No day is the same and there are constant challenges.  And just for fun, I’ve been living in a house share since march but I’m now looking at moving into my own little flat in November- because why not, right?

I miss the fandoms and books, I’m so behind on my TBR it is unreal never mind this year’s releases! (SARAH J MAAS I’M LOOKING AT YOU ;.; )- but trust me when I tell you, it is entirely worth it!

152. The Rosie Project (Don Tillman #1)- Graeme Simsion

trpgs

Title: The Rosie Project (Don Tillman #1)

Author: Graeme Simison

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Contemporary

Meet Don Tillman. Don is getting married. He just doesn’t know who to yet. But he has designed a very detailed questionnaire to help him find the perfect woman. One thing he already knows, though, is that it’s not Rosie. Absolutely, completely, definitely not. (Goodreads 2015)

Continue reading

151. I am Malala- Malala Yousafzai and Christina Lamb

malalay

Title: I am Malala: The Girl who stood up for educaiton and was shot by the Taliban

Author: Malala Yousafzai and Christina Lamb

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Non-fiction> Autobiography

The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban.

The highly anticipated memoir of Malala Yousafzai, the schoolgirl from Pakistan’s Swat region who stood up to the Taliban.

‘I come from a country that was created at midnight. When I almost died it was just after midday. We’d finished for the day and I was on the open-back truck we use as a school bus. There were no windows, just thick plastic sheeting that flapped at the sides and a postage stamp of open sky at the back through which I caught a glimpse of a kite wheeling up and down. It was pink, my favourite colour.’

In 2009 Malala Yousafzai began writing an anonymous blog for BBC Urdu about life in the Swat Valley as the Taliban gained control, at times banning girls from attending school. When her identity was discovered, Malala began to appear in Pakistani and international media, campaigning for education for all. On 9 October 2012, Malala was shot at point-blank range by a member of the Taliban on the way home from school. Remarkably, she survived. In April 2013, Time magazine named her one of the 100 Most Influential People in the World.

I Am Malala tells the inspiring story of a schoolgirl who was determined not to be intimidated by extremists, and faced the Taliban with immense courage. Malala speaks of her continuing campaign for every girl’s right to an education, shining a light into the lives of those children who cannot attend school. This is just the beginning…(Goodreads 2015)

Continue reading

150. Unnatural Creatures- Neil Gaiman

uncng

Title: Unnatural Creatures

Author: Various (Edited by Neil Gaiman)

Rating: ★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Anthologies/Fantasy/Sci-Fi

The griffin, the sunbird, manticores, unicorns ­– all manner of glorious creatures never captured in zoos, museums or photographs are packed vividly into this collection of stories. Neil Gaiman has included some of his own childhood favourites alongside stories classic and modern to spark the imagination of readers young and old. All contributors have given their work free to benefit Dave Eggers’ literacy charity, 826DC. Also includes a new Neil Gaiman Story

(Goodreads 2015)

Continue reading

Discussions: Lost in Translation?

A while ago, I came across the company “Smartling”, who are a translation software company, and they were looking for bloggers to discuss how they feel works of literature should be translated- how could they be translated effectively? And in some cases, if the words were still written in their orignal languages, would they still resonate with modern day audiences? I thought this would be a fun topic to post about so I’d like to give it a try…

Continue reading