158. The Final Empire- Brandon Sanderson

tfe1

Title: The Final Empire (mistborn #1)

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Fantasy

158. The Final Empire- Brandon Sanderson

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with colour once more?
In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage— Allomancy, a magic of the metals. (Goodreads 2016)

Continue reading

157. The Assassin’s Blade- Sarah J MAAS

Hello everybody- I’M ALIVE!!

Christ, I blink and suddenly it has been fives months since my last review! As usual, real life has ran away with me and I hardly have time to read, much less review. HOWEVER- this should be changing later this year as I am switching to a different shift pattern which means no more night shift. This also means I might have more time to be awake enough to read- and yes, REVIEW! crowd cheers. It kills me that I am about four books behind on Sarah J Maas releases and I still haven’t finished the Lunar Chronicles series!

Anyway, onto the main show- here is my first review in 6 months!

tabsm

Title: The Assassin’s Blade

Author: Sarah J MAAS

Ratings: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Fantasy

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out. (Goodreads 2016)

Continue reading

157. The Bletchley Girls- Tessa Dunlop

tbgts

Title: The Bletchley Girls

Author: Tessa Dunlop

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Non-fiction/Historical/War

The story of the women of Bletchley Park, Britain’s top secret code-breaking school, is told through exclusive interviews with the women who served their country, and the impact that their service had on the rest of their lives

Based on extensive interviews conducted specifically for this book, Tessa Dunlop tells the story of the Bletchley Girls through the lives of 15 women who were all selected to work in Britain’s most secret World War II organization—Bletchley Park. Many were just school girls at the outbreak of war; the next six years would change their lives forever. This vivid portrayal of their experiences, sacrifices, and memories is a poignant reminder that without the work of thousands of young women Bletchley Park’s extraordinary achievements would not have been possible. By meeting and talking to these fascinating female secret-keepers who are still alive today, Tessa Dunlop captures their extraordinary journeys into an adult world of war, secrecy, love, and loss. Through the voices of the women themselves, this is the story of life at Bletchley Park beyond the celebrated code-breakers; it’s the story of the girls behind Britain’s ability to consistently outsmart the enemy. (Goodreads 2016)

Continue reading

156. Outlander (#1)- Diana Gabaldon

oldg

Title: Outlander (#1)

Author: Diana Gabaldon

Rating: ★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> historical/romance

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives. (Goodreads 2016)

Continue reading

155. Safe Haven- Nicholas Sparks

shns

Title: Safe Haven

Author: Nicholas Sparks

Rating:★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Contemporary/Romance

When a mysterious young woman named Katie appears in the small North Carolina town of Southport, her sudden arrival raises questions about her past. Beautiful yet self-effacing, Katie seems determined to avoid forming personal ties until a series of events draws her into two reluctant relationships: one with Alex, a widowed store owner with a kind heart and two young children; and another with her plainspoken single neighbor, Jo. Despite her reservations, Katie slowly begins to let down her guard, putting down roots in the close-knit community and becoming increasingly attached to Alex and his family.

But even as Katie begins to fall in love, she struggles with the dark secret that still haunts and terrifies her . . . a past that set her on a fearful, shattering journey across the country, to the sheltered oasis of Southport. With Jo’s empathic and stubborn support, Katie eventually realizes that she must choose between a life of transient safety and one of riskier rewards . . . and that in the darkest hour, love is the only true safe haven. (Goodreads 2016)

Continue reading

2016: Happy New Year!

4be6d66804379deca422510447d45081

Happy New Year Everyone!

It’s time for my resolutions post for the year, these won’t just be bookish either.

2015 was an amazing year for me. I moved to a new city, started my dream job, and moved house twice, once into a house share with strangers, and now into my own flat. It has been a massive year for me personally, and developmentally. I’ve started to find out how much I can handle, and how much I rely on my friends and family despite living in a different city. not so much for books and reading.

In 2015, I read a total of thirty three books- a total I am not entirely unhappy with. It’s a massive drop from 2014’s 100+, but it is necessary. I had to cut back forcing myself to read to make sure I still enjoy it when I do get to.

2016 New Year Resolutions:

Continue reading

154. The Great Christmas Knit Off- Alexandra Brown

tgcko

Title: The Great Christmas Knit Off

Author: Alexandra Brown

Rating: ★★★★

On the shelves: Fiction> Contemporary/Romance

The perfect seasonal tale of how laughter, friends and wacky Christmas jumpers can mend a broken heart. For fans of Trisha Ashley and Jenny Colgan.

Heartbroken after being jilted at the altar, Sybil has been saved from despair by her knitting obsession and now her home is filled to bursting with tea cosies, bobble hats, and jumpers. But, after discovering that she may have perpetrated the cock-up of the century at work, Sybil decides to make a hasty exit and, just weeks before Christmas, runs away to the picturesque village of Tindledale.

There, Sybil discovers Hettie’s House of Haberdashery, an emporium dedicated to the world of knitting and needle craft. But Hettie, the outspoken octogenarian owner, is struggling and now the shop is due for closure. And when Hettie decides that Sybil’s wonderfully wacky Christmas jumpers are just the thing to add a bit of excitement to her window display, something miraculous starts to happen… (Goodreads 2015)

***HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE- I hope you all have a wonderful 2016!***

Continue reading

153. IT Girl- Nic Tatano

ntig

Title: IT Girl

Author: Nic Tatano

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Contemporary/Romance

Veronica Summer is stuck in the dream job from hell.

The spunky New York reporter is offered the network’s morning anchor position, but she doesn’t want it because she’s a night person. Then the network plays a trump card, promising her the evening anchor chair in three years. So the fiery redhead takes the plunge, with the ultimate gig waiting down the road.

Problem is, that road is filled with two am wake-up calls and the only social life she has is one with bats and raccoons. She quickly realizes she’ll never survive the grind and decides the only way out is to get fired by being her snarky self on live television and the ratings skyrocket.

Veronica becomes the nation’s It Girl, so the network makes her a celebrity contestant on its most popular nighttime dance competition show, Dance Off. While her journalistic credibility is shot to hell by the show’s skimpy costumes, she’s thrown into close contact with two incredibly attractive men; her dance partner and the show’s sarcastic British judge and she soon discovers that love is the ultimate gig.

(Goodreads 2015)

Continue reading

General: Another apology- kind of.

I know I’ve been absent this year a lot and I just want to apologise- life has been chaotic. Which to be honest, is great for me, but not so great for this blog- or my reading life.

I miss reading. Don’t get me wrong. I miss reading 5 books a week and devouring them and posting multiple reviews in a month and getting involved with you guys on your posts and challenges.I’ve been reading The Final Empire (1)- Brandon Sanderson since July!! … But when I weigh up all I do in my day job, it just doesn’t compare and I can’t feel too bad about it if I’m honest. I guess you could say it’s a sacrifice I’m definitely willing to make.  It’s just one of those jobs you can’t find anywhere else! I’m stressed beyond belief- but loving every second of it.No day is the same and there are constant challenges.  And just for fun, I’ve been living in a house share since march but I’m now looking at moving into my own little flat in November- because why not, right?

I miss the fandoms and books, I’m so behind on my TBR it is unreal never mind this year’s releases! (SARAH J MAAS I’M LOOKING AT YOU ;.; )- but trust me when I tell you, it is entirely worth it!

152. The Rosie Project (Don Tillman #1)- Graeme Simsion

trpgs

Title: The Rosie Project (Don Tillman #1)

Author: Graeme Simison

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Contemporary

Meet Don Tillman. Don is getting married. He just doesn’t know who to yet. But he has designed a very detailed questionnaire to help him find the perfect woman. One thing he already knows, though, is that it’s not Rosie. Absolutely, completely, definitely not. (Goodreads 2015)

Continue reading