156. Outlander (#1)- Diana Gabaldon

oldg

Title: Outlander (#1)

Author: Diana Gabaldon

Rating: ★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> historical/romance

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives. (Goodreads 2016)

Continue reading

Advertisements

144. The Moon is Down- John Steinbeck

tmisjs

Title: The Moon is Down

Author: John Steinbeck

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Classic/Historical Fiction/Historical

Originally published at the zenith of Nazi Germany’s power, Steinbeck’s fable “The Moon Is Down” explores the effects of invasion on both the conquered and the conquerors. Occupied by enemy troops, a small, peaceable town comes face-to-face with evil imposed from the outside and betrayal from within the close-knit community. As he delves into the motivations and emotions of the enemy, Steinbeck uncovers profound and often unsettling truths both about war and human nature.

(Goodreads 2015)

Continue reading

129. Life After Life- Kate Atkinson

sts68

Title: Life After Life

Author: Kate Atkinson

Rating: ★★★★

On the Shelves: Fiction> Historical Fiction/Paranormal

What if you had the chance to live your life again and again, until you finally got it right?

During a snowstorm in England in 1910, a baby is born and dies before she can take her first breath.

During a snowstorm in England in 1910, the same baby is born and lives to tell the tale.

What if there were second chances? And third chances? In fact an infinite number of chances to live your life? Would you eventually be able to save the world from its own inevitable destiny? And would you even want to?

Life After Life follows Ursula Todd as she lives through the turbulent events of the last century again and again. With wit and compassion, she finds warmth even in life’s bleakest moments, and shows an extraordinary ability to evoke the past. Here is Kate Atkinson at her most profound and inventive, in a novel that celebrates the best and worst of ourselves (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading

125. When the Guns Fall Silent- James Riordan

bk3

Title: When the Guns Fall Silent

Author: James Riordan

Rating: ★★

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Historical Fiction

 

Jack, standing among the war graves, sees a face he recognizes. Suddenly, it’s 1914 again and he’s a young lad back in the trenches. Visions of killing and misery come to him with horrible clarity.

But then Jack remembers too the incredible moment when the guns fell silent for a short time, and fighting gave way to football on the frozen ground of No-Man’s-Land.

This amazing story, based on true facts from the First World War, will transport readers back to the war fields of France and show that even in times of conflict and extreme sadness, there is always hope (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading

105. The Mysterious Death of Miss Austen

mdoja

Title: The Mysterious Death of Miss Austen

Author: Lindsay Ashford

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Fiction> Crime/Mystery/ Historical Fiction

“When Jane Austen dies at the age of just 41, Anne, governess to her brother, Edward Austen, is devastated and begins to suspect that someone might have wanted her out of the way. Now, 20 years on, she hopes that medical science might have progressed sufficiently to assess the one piece of evidence she has – a tainted lock of Jane’s hair. Natural causes or murder? Even 20 years down the line, Anne is determined to get to the bottom of the mysterious death of the acclaimed Miss Austen.” (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading

85. Rose Under Fire- Elizabeth Wein

Today is meant to be “Friday’s Fairytales”, and I’m sorry that this is the second week  of not updating it. But I just can’t bring myself to do it. Not while I have so much to say about the fantastic and heartbreaking book I just read.

roseunderfire

Title: Rose Under Fire

Author: Elizabeth Wein

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Young Adult Fiction> Historical Fiction

 

While flying an Allied fighter plane from Paris to England, American ATA pilot and amateur poet, Rose Justice, is captured by the Nazis and sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious women’s concentration camp. Trapped in horrific circumstances, Rose finds hope in the impossible through the loyalty, bravery and friendship of her fellow prisoners. But will that be enough to endure the fate that’s in store for her?

Elizabeth Wein, author of the critically-acclaimed and best-selling Code Name Verity, delivers another stunning WWII thriller. The unforgettable story of Rose Justice is forged from heart-wrenching courage, resolve, and the slim, bright chance of survival (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading

70. Cinderella’s Dress- Shonna Slayton

18630484

Title: Cinderella’s Dress

Author: Shonna Slayton

Rating:

On the Shelves: Young Adult Fiction> Historical Fiction/Fantasy/Retellings

Publication Date: 3/05/2014- TODAY!

Being seventeen during World War II is tough. Finding out you’re the next keeper of the real Cinderella’s dresses is even tougher.
Kate simply wants to create window displays at the department store where she’s working, trying to help out with the war effort. But when long-lost relatives from Poland arrive with a steamer trunk they claim holds the Cinderella’s dresses, life gets complicated.
Now, with a father missing in action, her new sweetheart, Johnny, stuck in the middle of battle, and her great aunt losing her wits, Kate has to unravel the mystery before it’s too late.

After all, the descendants of the wicked stepsisters will stop at nothing to get what they think they deserve (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading

57. Prisoner of Night and Fog- Anne Blankman

ponf

Title: Prisoner of Night and Fog

Author: Anne Blankman

Rating:  

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Historical Fiction

Publication Date: 22nd April 2014

An explosive, fast-paced thriller set in Nazi Germany. For fans of CODE NAME VERITY and BLACK ROSES.

Gretchen Muller has, as best she can, dealt with the horrors of her family’s past. Her father, a senior Nazi officer, died to save the life of their leader, Adolf Hitler. And now Germany has the chance to be great once more. Swept up in the excitement and passion of life in Munich in 1931, seventeen-year-old Gretchen has embraced the life laid out for her by that leader, her ‘Uncle Dolf’.

But the secrets of the past cannot be silenced forever. When Gretchen receives a letter from an anonymous sender claiming to have more information about her father’s death, she becomes swept up in a desperate and dangerous search for the truth. With the full might of the ever-powerful Nazi party on her tail, it is a race that will risk everything she has and change her life forever… (Goodreads 2014)

Continue reading

40. Code Name Verity- Elizabeth Wein

cnv

Title: Code Name Verity

Author: Elizabeth Wein

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Historical Fiction

 

Oct. 11th, 1943-A British spy plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France. Its pilot and passenger are best friends. One of the girls has a chance at survival. The other has lost the game before it’s barely begun.

When “Verity” is arrested by the Gestapo, she’s sure she doesn’t stand a chance. As a secret agent captured in enemy territory, she’s living a spy’s worst nightmare. Her Nazi interrogators give her a simple choice: reveal her mission or face a grisly execution.

As she intricately weaves her confession, Verity uncovers her past, how she became friends with the pilot Maddie, and why she left Maddie in the wrecked fuselage of their plane. On each new scrap of paper, Verity battles for her life, confronting her views on courage, failure and her desperate hope to make it home. But will trading her secrets be enough to save her from the enemy? 

A Michael L. Printz Award Honor book that was called “a fiendishly-plotted mind game of a novel” in The New York TimesCode Name Verity is a visceral read of danger, resolve, and survival that shows just how far true friends will go to save each other.

(Goodreads 2014)

  Continue reading

36. Number the Stars- Lois Lowry

ntsll

Title: Number the Stars

Author: Lois Lowry

Rating: 

On the Shelves: Young Adult> Historical Fiction

Ten-year-old Annemarie Johansen and her best friend Ellen Rosen often think of lifebefore the war. It’s now 1943 and their life in Copenhagen is filled with school, food shortages,and the Nazi soldiers marching through town. When the Jews of Denmark are “relocated,”Ellen moves in with the Johansens and pretends to be one of the family. Soon Annemarie isasked to go on a dangerous mission to save Ellen’s life. (Goodreads 2014)

  Continue reading