Top Ten Tuesday 38: Best Books of 2014

ttt

hosted by the broke and the bookish, this week’s top te tuesday allows me to highlight the best books I read in 2014- this year has flown by!

(These are in the order I read them).

1. More Than This- Patrick Ness

mtt

Not many books can say they start out with their protagonist being dead.

2.  Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3)- Marissa Meyer

cress

One of my favourite on-going series, I can’t wait for Fairest and Winter!

3. Nothing to Envy- Barbara Demick

8551322

An inside look at the crazy, scary world of North Korea, told from first person accounts by those who had fled it’s borders.

4. Code Name Verity (and Rose Under Fire)- Elizabeth Wein

cnv

My heart still hurts.

5. Black Apples- Various Authors

blackapples

The best anthology I’ve read all year.

6.  Gone Girl- Gillian Flynn

gg

Got me craving more crime thrillers, which I don’t read very much of at all!

7.  A Room of One’s Own- Virginia Woolf

arooo

A great work of opinion which basically screams “F#@% your patriarchal bullshi-t”

8. Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)- Sarah J Maas

hofttt2

The amazing fantasy series grows better and better with every book!

9. Rose Daughter- Robin McKinley

sts67

You can’t go wrong with a Tale as Old as Time, right?

10. All Quiet on the Western Front

allquiet

Probably the most important book I read all year.

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday 38: Best Books of 2014

  1. ChrissiReads says:

    It seems like you’ve read some brilliant books this year. I’m currently reading Heir of Fire. I think I’m going to love it! 😀

  2. What a great list! I loved Code Name Verity, and want to re-read it now that some time has passed. I just started Cinder, and I’m really excited to read more of this series. I hope 2015 is another great reading year for you!

    • thebookheap says:

      definitely need to re-read so many books asap!

      I hope so too, 2014 was pretty great! The Lunar Chronicles is a great series- I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a comment